Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I made this for eclairs...but it never made it that far... Yummm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Great Recipe! I tried this recipe today to use as the filling for small cream puffs. Fabulous! I followed the recipe as written except I used the vanilla extract instead of the bean. I piped the cream into the puff pastry and then topped with a chocolate ganache. I've always been afraid to make these, but they were not nearly and hard as I thought. I will definitely make again. I also wanted to freeze these for a party, took a few out of the freezer tonite and the worst part was waiting for them to defrost. My husband just ate them frozen. I don't know if they will last until my party since he knows they are in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was the first pastry cream that I made and it was pretty good. It tasted even better in my cream puffs. I substituted vanilla extract for the bean as I did not have any vanilla beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Ridiculously easy! So good! I did scrap about 1/2 of the vanilla bean into the milk. Yummy! I am using this for a filling for crepes with some fruit topping on it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is the best ever pastry cream that i ever make. sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Consider using this HOT - pour a serving over one or two ice cold canned cling peaches, along with some of their syrup. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Isn't it almost identical to custard only with a bit of flour in it? I had no problems with the consistency and my cream puffs were really good filled with it, just not my favourite taste. But really rewarding making this from scratch and very basic ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Yum...I thought how good could this be? Really good, served it with strawberries for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
An excellent recipe. I did scrape the seeds out of the halved vanilla bean, adding them and the scraped bean halves to the milk/sugar mixture prior to heating. Gave it a very intense vanilla flavor. I too was a little skeptical about the amount/choice of flour as a thickener, but no problem there - worked like a charm. No "flour-y" taste at all. I did strain the mixture, and it was smooth as silk. Bakery shop quality, and I found a home for a lonely bean that was sitting in my pantry. I could see this going into a lot of things - eclairs, cream puffs, trifle...even eating it alone as a pudding. Tomorrow, it gets used as a filling for a Boston Cream Pie. Good job, Kevin. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Makes rockin' ice cream!!! I used this recipe to make ice cream for my dairy-allergic daughter. Omitted flour so it wouldn't be too think for the ice cream maker. Substituted rice milk for milk, and canola oil for butter. Ran it in food processer when it cooled to make it smooth. It made some of the BEST ice cream I have eaten...and it had no milk or cream in it! So much better than store-bought, I am ecstatic to have found this recipe. Blessings on you Kevin!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States