Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
I used this recipe to fill a 3 layer cake and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
great, i used this for a boston cream cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
This is a great cake filling it has very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
This is the best pastry creme recipe I have ever tried. All my previous batches had turned out horribly, but the first try on this one worked like a charm! Lovely, smooth, and sweet, without a trace of eggy flavor. Recommended without reservation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I have been looking for a cake filling recipe like this for a long time. I made a valentine's cake last night and this filling made it divine! Thank you for a great recipe. Used 1 tsp. vanilla instead of vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
YUM!!!!! This almost didn't make it onto the cake after my husband discovered how tasty it was straight out of the bowl. I sliced a white cake in half and used this cream to fill it, placed the top of the cake back on and topped with this site's "Cool Whipped Topping." Oh, yeah. Definitely a keeper. Cheers to you Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
O, heavenly! Rich and creamy. I was skeptical because it did not use heavy cream but the addition of butter took care of that. I will use this recipe to fill Boston Cream Pie and Chocolate Eclairs...even trifles. You will love this recipe. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This pastry cream was amazing! I used it to fill eclairs but I wished I would have doubled the recipe to have some to eat by itself. It is the perfect thickness for filling pastry and it was super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Excellent filling recipe. used if or the chocolate eclair recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I'd give this recipe 6 stars if I could. The flavor is wonderful and the texture is absolutely perfect for a filling. I kept this in my fridge for days and it never "watered out" like puddings tend to. This is definitely THE recipe for pastry cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States