Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Perfect recipe!! So easy, and delicious. I whisked mine through a strainer so it would be silky, I used it for the shell filling in a fruit tart. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My boyfriend thinks it should be four stars. I was expecting this to be better, but it's still good. I used real vanilla extract instead of the bean and stick margarine instead of butter. It has a strong egg flavor, which I like, though I think most Americans don't like a sweet eggy taste (mind you, we were just eating it straight as it is apparently originally a pudding). It didn't have a super smooth texture - not grainy...mealy is the only way I can think of to describe it. Not terrible, but not ideal. If I made this again, I'd use whole milk. Personally, I think Betty Crocker's Boston Creme Pie Filling recipe is quite similar but much better. It doesn't have flour or butter for starters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is fabulous. I made it to use as a filling for a cake and was very pleased. I used 2 teaspoons of real vanilla extract in lieu of the vanilla bean and also only used 5 egg yolks. I think for the purpose of using it as a cake filling the 5 yolks are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe! After trying many other pastry creams, this one worked the best. Definatley will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTAAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaMarie Armstrong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
We used this as a filling with strawberries for a wedding cake - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy to make and yummy. I used half the recipe to fill a cake and i added the zest of one lemon for a lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I love this recipe. Comes out perfect every time! Only I use 2 t. vanilla extract rather than a bean. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made it exactly like the reciepe and it was PERFECT!!! SOOOOOOO YUMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Have used this pastry cream for cream puffs (with whipped cream folded in), for filling cakes and making trifle. Such good flavor and quite simple to make. Very versatile and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States