Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Love this!! I use it in a fruit tart and glaze the fruit with warmed apricot or peach jelly. So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
this took a while to make but was so worth it i used to fill homemade crepes topped off with fresh fruit and cinnamon for a fathers day brunch and i know i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I never thought that I could make pastry cream and this was easy. It was delicious! I follow the recipe exactly and it turn out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Perfect recipe!! So easy, and delicious. I whisked mine through a strainer so it would be silky, I used it for the shell filling in a fruit tart. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My boyfriend thinks it should be four stars. I was expecting this to be better, but it's still good. I used real vanilla extract instead of the bean and stick margarine instead of butter. It has a strong egg flavor, which I like, though I think most Americans don't like a sweet eggy taste (mind you, we were just eating it straight as it is apparently originally a pudding). It didn't have a super smooth texture - not grainy...mealy is the only way I can think of to describe it. Not terrible, but not ideal. If I made this again, I'd use whole milk. Personally, I think Betty Crocker's Boston Creme Pie Filling recipe is quite similar but much better. It doesn't have flour or butter for starters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is fabulous. I made it to use as a filling for a cake and was very pleased. I used 2 teaspoons of real vanilla extract in lieu of the vanilla bean and also only used 5 egg yolks. I think for the purpose of using it as a cake filling the 5 yolks are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe! After trying many other pastry creams, this one worked the best. Definatley will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTAAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSVALPIQUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
We used this as a filling with strawberries for a wedding cake - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy to make and yummy. I used half the recipe to fill a cake and i added the zest of one lemon for a lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States