Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
In my opinion, this is the BEST recipe for pastry cream on this site. The instructions are VERY clear. I am very happy with my results. NO RUNNY PASTRY CREAM and NO LUMPY PASTRY CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've been making vanilla pudding from my grandmother's recipe all my life. I just have changed the recipe for this one! It is AMAZING! I omitted the butter and the salt though. Also mixed half of the finished pudding with 2 ounces dark chocolate. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
It tasted more like vanilla pudding than pastry cream. If the recipe was titled vanilla pudding then it would be 4 or 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is good. The vanilla bean is critical. I also used high quality european butter. This is nice and firm when cooked long enough. great filling for eclairs. One time it curdled(I was very distracted) and I thought I would throw it out, but a simple pass through a mesh strainer did the trick. A bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I used the vanilla bean as recomended rather than the extract. This would be great in just about any pastry but I made it to use to fill a chocolate cake. Since I needed it to stand up to the weight of a cake and not squish out the sides I added an extra 2 tsp of flour and it worked beautifully. This filling tastes so much like my creme brulee that I have plans to use this recipe if I'm pressed for time or don't want to mess with the oven/waterbath. Just top with sugar and hit with your torch and you've got a quick and EASY creme brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this exactly as directed, and added vanilla extract with the butter, since I didn't have a vanilla bean. It made a delicious filling for cream puffs, which were raved about at the party I took them to on New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is SO easy and it really tastes so much better than a pudding mix. Next time I make it, I may cut back a little on the sugar. I used this to make cream puffs, but will also use it as a base for making coconut or banana cream pies. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!! I made this recipe for the first time monday night and it turned out great. So great that I did ate almost all the bowl by myself... I will keep your recipe and I'm thriving for the next time I will have to do it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. So creamy and silky... like vanilla satin! You would never think that something this good is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Layer this with lots of nilla wafers and sliced bananas for a wonderful Banana Pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States