Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was pretty good, but you could taste the flour. It was also very rich. We ate it warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great pastry cream for anything that needs pastry cream. Eclairs,Napoleans even croissants! I used a little bit more of vanilla bean paste. I really prefer that to the sscrapings of the bean itself. It is so easy to change the favor to chocolate also by melting a good quality chocolate and stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Turned out as expected and tasted lovely. Will play with the flour amount in the future to get the texture since my eggs(farm fresh) were a little bigger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I used it to fill vanilla cupcakes, which I then frosted with white chocolate SMB(Swiss Meringue Buttercream). Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this cream on request from my chef, it was incredably easy. Only took a few short minutes. The end result was smooth and shiny, like it should have been. I ended up adding 2 handfuls of chocolate chips and, after some cooling, whipped cream for a chocolate silk pie. This cream worked wonderfully for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Classic-this is my go to recipe for basic vanilla pudding and pastry cream. The vanilla bean is a bonus, but not totally necessary, you can use vanilla extract if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Mmmm.... yum. I found that after mixing the egg/flour mix to the hot milk, it started to thicken too quickly, and wasnt loose enough to boil the floury taste out. I used a few TB of milk to thin it out and boil for a minute or so. It set up just fine after that. A little bit lumpy, but that's fixable if it bothers you. Sooo much better than store bought or instant custards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
In my opinion, this is the BEST recipe for pastry cream on this site. The instructions are VERY clear. I am very happy with my results. NO RUNNY PASTRY CREAM and NO LUMPY PASTRY CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've been making vanilla pudding from my grandmother's recipe all my life. I just have changed the recipe for this one! It is AMAZING! I omitted the butter and the salt though. Also mixed half of the finished pudding with 2 ounces dark chocolate. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
It tasted more like vanilla pudding than pastry cream. If the recipe was titled vanilla pudding then it would be 4 or 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States