Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Pretty good pastry cream...a little eggier taste than I was expecting but still overall very good. Can be kind of dense and thick...so when I want a lighter cream, I fold in some whipped cream/whipped topping and add a little more vanilla/sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaCupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
easy to make, but i would decrease the amount of butter. i actually prefferred the pastry cream the day after. make sure to cover with cling film if left in frige, otherwise a skin will form. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I used this recipe to use up some of the egg yolks leftover from my angel food cake recipe, then I served the pastry cream drizzled over top of the angel food cake, along with fresh berries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
yummm....this was great! It was easy to cook...It came out great and smooth. I used vanilla extract instead of vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
this goes really really nicly with cream puffs! my sister aks me to make this over and over again and she is very hard to please her food-wise(one of the only foods we both like since mac and cheese). but if you would like to use this as a filling like i do,i would recomend using half or even a quarter of what the ingredients say, cause you will have way too much left if you use everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I made this for eclairs...but it never made it that far... Yummm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Great Recipe! I tried this recipe today to use as the filling for small cream puffs. Fabulous! I followed the recipe as written except I used the vanilla extract instead of the bean. I piped the cream into the puff pastry and then topped with a chocolate ganache. I've always been afraid to make these, but they were not nearly and hard as I thought. I will definitely make again. I also wanted to freeze these for a party, took a few out of the freezer tonite and the worst part was waiting for them to defrost. My husband just ate them frozen. I don't know if they will last until my party since he knows they are in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was the first pastry cream that I made and it was pretty good. It tasted even better in my cream puffs. I substituted vanilla extract for the bean as I did not have any vanilla beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Ridiculously easy! So good! I did scrap about 1/2 of the vanilla bean into the milk. Yummy! I am using this for a filling for crepes with some fruit topping on it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is the best ever pastry cream that i ever make. sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States