Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this and found that it was very tasty, however, it was a little more stiff than I expected. It could be that I kept it on the stove too long, but I barely got the ingredients in and took it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Delicious! I've made this recipe twice, but the second time I used 1 and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla (instead of the vanilla bean) to give it an even richer vanilla flavor. This is a great staple pastry cream for anything that calls for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is the perfect pastry cream recipe! I will look no further:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Mine really had a noticeable floury taste. I did follow the recipe exactly except I used a very high quality vanilla extract and skim milk with 1/4 cup extra milk. I see some saying use whole milk or half and half, but I'm not sure if a fattier milk would do much to cut that flour taste. I plan to use it in a trifle and am thinking maybe I will mix it with some whipped cream to disguise that taste. Otherwise it was easy to make, and maybe with less flour or a little corn starch to replace some of the flour it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Can substitute about 1/3 teaspoon powdered vanilla bean for whole vanilla bean. Combine finished pastry cream with fresh bananas for banana cream pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Wow. This is great! I had guests coming from out of town, and completely spaced making a dessert. I happened to have some of those frozen pastry cups in the freezer, so I baked them up, filled them with this custard, threw some berries and a dusting of powdered sugar on top. Guests thought I'd been in the kitchen all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I had made a Italian Buttercream frosting & had leftover egg yolks...Did not know what to do with them...made this recipe, turned out great! Would make an excellent filling for cake.....;-) super easy to make...melted some semi sweet chocolate chips in it ..nyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigun666

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made an angel food cake and had a ton of egg yolks to use. So easy and delicious. I admit I looked away while the whole mixture was on the stove and it clumped up, but I just used an immersion blender and all was well again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was pretty good, but you could taste the flour. It was also very rich. We ate it warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great pastry cream for anything that needs pastry cream. Eclairs,Napoleans even croissants! I used a little bit more of vanilla bean paste. I really prefer that to the sscrapings of the bean itself. It is so easy to change the favor to chocolate also by melting a good quality chocolate and stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States