Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I had made a Italian Buttercream frosting & had leftover egg yolks...Did not know what to do with them...made this recipe, turned out great! Would make an excellent filling for cake.....;-) super easy to make...melted some semi sweet chocolate chips in it ..nyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigun666

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made an angel food cake and had a ton of egg yolks to use. So easy and delicious. I admit I looked away while the whole mixture was on the stove and it clumped up, but I just used an immersion blender and all was well again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It was pretty good, but you could taste the flour. It was also very rich. We ate it warm with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a great pastry cream for anything that needs pastry cream. Eclairs,Napoleans even croissants! I used a little bit more of vanilla bean paste. I really prefer that to the sscrapings of the bean itself. It is so easy to change the favor to chocolate also by melting a good quality chocolate and stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Turned out as expected and tasted lovely. Will play with the flour amount in the future to get the texture since my eggs(farm fresh) were a little bigger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I used it to fill vanilla cupcakes, which I then frosted with white chocolate SMB(Swiss Meringue Buttercream). Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this cream on request from my chef, it was incredably easy. Only took a few short minutes. The end result was smooth and shiny, like it should have been. I ended up adding 2 handfuls of chocolate chips and, after some cooling, whipped cream for a chocolate silk pie. This cream worked wonderfully for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Classic-this is my go to recipe for basic vanilla pudding and pastry cream. The vanilla bean is a bonus, but not totally necessary, you can use vanilla extract if you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Mmmm.... yum. I found that after mixing the egg/flour mix to the hot milk, it started to thicken too quickly, and wasnt loose enough to boil the floury taste out. I used a few TB of milk to thin it out and boil for a minute or so. It set up just fine after that. A little bit lumpy, but that's fixable if it bothers you. Sooo much better than store bought or instant custards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
In my opinion, this is the BEST recipe for pastry cream on this site. The instructions are VERY clear. I am very happy with my results. NO RUNNY PASTRY CREAM and NO LUMPY PASTRY CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States