Pastry Cream for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loved it, reduced the sugar like sugessted, lowered the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and cooked it over direct fire so that it would thicken quicker, really nice, will add bananas or other types of fruits next them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diltz Yong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this and added 1/4 cup Kahlua, and served it in small chocolate shells with sliced strawberries on top. Rave reviews; everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a wonderful filling! It tastes just like pudding and is very easy to make! The only thing that I changed was that I only mixed the milk with the other mixture about halfway and then poured the whole thing into the sauce pan I was already using. I used a whisk and mixed it well, continuing to do so on a very low heat until properly thickened. I then finished the recipe as stated. I used this in empanadas and it was awesome! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Quel délice!!! Je cherchais depuis longtemps une recette de crème qui se marie bien avec des fruits. Facile à faire et rapide, j'ai du faire 2 tartes dans la même semaine... mon père l'a adoré ainsi que toute la famille... avec des fruits frais, c'est parfait! Great!!! I was searching for a cream recipe that is good, easy and quick to combine with fruits. I had to make this recipe twice in the same week because of my father... he likes it and all the family... With fresh fruits, it's perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I made this as just a custard to eat. It was a little thick for that but it was just what we had been wanting in flavor. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was wonderful! I tried the double boiler and it took forever so I just cooked it over the stove with a whisk and it thickened very quickly. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Delicous, I used it in my banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Used for the filling in a boston creme pie. Everyone loved it. Also made little parfaits out of it w/ blueberries, etc. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Very good flavor. This is awesome with fruit. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I was looking for an easy recipe to use as a custard for chocolate tarts. This was incredibly easy and delicious. I did not use a double boiler, just heated it on the stove at a medium temperature. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice to add a little dimension to the flavor. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States