Pastry Cream for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Quel délice!!! Je cherchais depuis longtemps une recette de crème qui se marie bien avec des fruits. Facile à faire et rapide, j'ai du faire 2 tartes dans la même semaine... mon père l'a adoré ainsi que toute la famille... avec des fruits frais, c'est parfait! Great!!! I was searching for a cream recipe that is good, easy and quick to combine with fruits. I had to make this recipe twice in the same week because of my father... he likes it and all the family... With fresh fruits, it's perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I made this as just a custard to eat. It was a little thick for that but it was just what we had been wanting in flavor. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was wonderful! I tried the double boiler and it took forever so I just cooked it over the stove with a whisk and it thickened very quickly. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Delicous, I used it in my banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Used for the filling in a boston creme pie. Everyone loved it. Also made little parfaits out of it w/ blueberries, etc. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Very good flavor. This is awesome with fruit. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this and added 1/4 cup Kahlua, and served it in small chocolate shells with sliced strawberries on top. Rave reviews; everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I was looking for an easy recipe to use as a custard for chocolate tarts. This was incredibly easy and delicious. I did not use a double boiler, just heated it on the stove at a medium temperature. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice to add a little dimension to the flavor. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a wonderful filling! It tastes just like pudding and is very easy to make! The only thing that I changed was that I only mixed the milk with the other mixture about halfway and then poured the whole thing into the sauce pan I was already using. I used a whisk and mixed it well, continuing to do so on a very low heat until properly thickened. I then finished the recipe as stated. I used this in empanadas and it was awesome! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loved it, reduced the sugar like sugessted, lowered the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and cooked it over direct fire so that it would thicken quicker, really nice, will add bananas or other types of fruits next them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States