Pastry Cream for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Quel délice!!! Je cherchais depuis longtemps une recette de crème qui se marie bien avec des fruits. Facile à faire et rapide, j'ai du faire 2 tartes dans la même semaine... mon père l'a adoré ainsi que toute la famille... avec des fruits frais, c'est parfait! Great!!! I was searching for a cream recipe that is good, easy and quick to combine with fruits. I had to make this recipe twice in the same week because of my father... he likes it and all the family... With fresh fruits, it's perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I made this as just a custard to eat. It was a little thick for that but it was just what we had been wanting in flavor. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was wonderful! I tried the double boiler and it took forever so I just cooked it over the stove with a whisk and it thickened very quickly. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
it was an easy recipe, but it was a bit too sweet for my taste. Next time I'll try with 1/3 cup of sugar. I also didn't use the double boiler, but just put the contents back in the sauce pan and heated it on low heat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
We made this for the first time last night and multiplied the recipie X 4 for 2 strawberry pies. I used a little less sugar than called for and the sweetness was very good. I also added a little lemon extract in addition to the vanillia to bring out the flavor of the berries. I must not have cooked it quite long enough since the custard came out a bit runny for a pie. I will try it again and cook until a bit more solid. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEILFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Good recipe, except it was wayyyy to sweet for me. I gave it a second try with half the sugar and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Delicous, I used it in my banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Used for the filling in a boston creme pie. Everyone loved it. Also made little parfaits out of it w/ blueberries, etc. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Very good flavor. This is awesome with fruit. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Maybe it was the brand of vanilla I used but after I added it, the cream lost it soft yellow color and I could taste the vanilla a little to much for my taste. Other than that, it was very good, fast, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States