Pastry Cream for Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loved it, reduced the sugar like sugessted, lowered the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and cooked it over direct fire so that it would thicken quicker, really nice, will add bananas or other types of fruits next them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a wonderful filling! It tastes just like pudding and is very easy to make! The only thing that I changed was that I only mixed the milk with the other mixture about halfway and then poured the whole thing into the sauce pan I was already using. I used a whisk and mixed it well, continuing to do so on a very low heat until properly thickened. I then finished the recipe as stated. I used this in empanadas and it was awesome! I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I was looking for an easy recipe to use as a custard for chocolate tarts. This was incredibly easy and delicious. I did not use a double boiler, just heated it on the stove at a medium temperature. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice to add a little dimension to the flavor. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this and added 1/4 cup Kahlua, and served it in small chocolate shells with sliced strawberries on top. Rave reviews; everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Maybe it was the brand of vanilla I used but after I added it, the cream lost it soft yellow color and I could taste the vanilla a little to much for my taste. Other than that, it was very good, fast, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Very good flavor. This is awesome with fruit. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Used for the filling in a boston creme pie. Everyone loved it. Also made little parfaits out of it w/ blueberries, etc. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Delicous, I used it in my banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Good recipe, except it was wayyyy to sweet for me. I gave it a second try with half the sugar and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
We made this for the first time last night and multiplied the recipie X 4 for 2 strawberry pies. I used a little less sugar than called for and the sweetness was very good. I also added a little lemon extract in addition to the vanillia to bring out the flavor of the berries. I must not have cooked it quite long enough since the custard came out a bit runny for a pie. I will try it again and cook until a bit more solid. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEILFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States