Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Perfect each and every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Made with pate a choux (cream puffs) Sooo yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Myrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
It tastes like eggs and ruined my eclairs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
excellent easy fast and so delicious!! all my friends just love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by weeble
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
i used this recipe for pastry cream to fill my boston cream pie with. it was a huge hit. very easy to make. i didn't get any lumps, cuz i whisked constantly. that's the secret for no lumps. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Straightforward recipe. No problems with lumps for me. I added a touch of salt and freshly ground nutmeg to boost flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
The pastry cream is delicious. The following modifications of the recipe should give you a lumpy free pasty cream. To start, follow the recipe until the milk and sugar comes to a boil. Turn off the heat. Start adding one to two tablespoons of the milk mixture into the egg mixture while whisking the egg mixture until you have used about half of the milk mixture. Then slowly pour the egg and milk mixture back into the saucepan while whisking the ingredients and turn the flame on to a low to medium heat stirring constantly until the mixture thickens. Then add the butter and vanilla and transfer into a bowl and follow the completion of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
good recipe worked well as a cream puff filling..one adjustment that i made was 1/4 cup less sugar 1tsp more of vanilla and itsp of salt...overall solid reference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
If you are looking for an excellent custard filling for cakes this is the best recipe. It is very forgiving, easy to prepare and holds up well even in combination with fruit. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wonderful! I also made this dairy-free using soy milk and margarine. At first it tastes gross but once the vanilla is added in, it's delicious! Keep stirring. Don't stop stirring. I used this for a fresh fruit tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam Isbored

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States