Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I made a fresh fruit tart using this pastry cream and it was excellent! It had an awesome flavor! I used the recipe for the french pastry crust that is posted on this site as well. Those two combined with fresh strawberries and blueberries on top made a delicious dessert!! I had a dinner party for a few of my girls and they loved it! I am a frequent patron of this french pastry shop called La Madeliene and I am in love with their fruit tarts. Well, I must say that this pastry cream taste exactly like theirs!! I will be using this recipe time and time again!! Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This is just like the custard that they use at a bakery. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe is really easy to make and is delicious. I used it to fill a chocolate cake and added fresh bananas. Everybody loved it. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meryl
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Wonderful recipe. This makes a perfect filling for the Cream Puff Shells (also in allrecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. Even if you are not a skilled cook, if you can follow directions carefully, you will have a great masterpiece to use in many recipes!! Thanks for the submission...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I used this recipe to fill the middle of a Bundt cake (Jan's Chocolate Cake from this site) and it received rave reviews all around. The pastry cream is decadent -- oh-so creamy without being too sweet. It would also be delicious served warm over fresh berries or peaches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I did not expect this to be as thick and heavy as it turned out, but it tasted amazing! It was much better than I expected and very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Last time when I make puff pastry, I use Kevin Ryan Pastry Cream. So this time I thought I would try this pastry cream recipe and I did not regret b'cause is also as good as the latter and it use less egg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This is the BEST! I rarely could make a pastry cream that didn't have at least a few "lumps" in it and I have tried several recipes, including my Mom's and grandmother's. This one was perfectly smooth and had a wonderful custard taste. I did fold in plain whipped cream for a lighter filling and used it in Cream Puffs and it was absolutely to die for! Thaks so much for this perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pingtung, Pingtung, Taiwan
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States