Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Absolutely to die for.......mmmmm.....I was licking the bowl, spoon, etc. I did manage to get most of it into the refrigerator to set. I served this with a choux pastry to my husband and he was licking his plate to the last bit. A couple of drops fell to the floor and the dog immediately licked that up and was begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blfm94
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Technically this recipe is excellent - no lumps, a good consistency, and it set nice & firmly in the refrigerator. I used it to fill chocolate eclairs, and it worked brilliantly. The only change I would make, would be to cut back on the sugar a touch; I was looking for that cool, vanilla-y hit in the middle of the eclair, to offset the sweetness of the chocolate, and this was a little too sweet. It's probably a matter of personal taste though - if you're a sweet-tooth, make it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very very yummy!!! I combined this with homemade whipped cream to make a very tasty cream puff filling. Thans for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I realize that a custard is supposed to taste eggy, but this didn't have a whole lot of flavor besides that. I ended up adding about 5 times the amount of vanilla to it and it tasted much better to my way of thinking. I was using imitation vanilla, though, so that have been why I needed so much. Other than that, though, I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Used this as the filling for an Italian Rum Cream Cake. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
When j tasted them I melted! (literally) It was just SOOOOO awesome and people should try. It made me feel like life is heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Exactly what I needed to fill my cake. Not too runny, not too stiff. I was worried while it was cooking, because it looked like it was getting lumpy, but I kept whisking and it smoothed right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is delicious!!!! Even better with a seeded vanilla bean (along with some of the extract). Great flavor....not just plain sweet. I love to use it as a filling for eclairs. I always pass my custards through a mesh strainer to make sure they are extremely creamy and free of lumps, even if they don't seem to need it. I like to be absolutely possitive that it will be a completely creamy indulgence for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMAOF4NOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States