Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The best pastry cream I have ever made. Has no floury taste and is great for all my cakes. I am from the UK and we have cornflour not cornstarch. After several attempts and reading up on the difference between the two flours you need to double up, so 1/2 cup of cornflour works perfectly, tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This came out perfectly. I have tried the other recipes and they too work fine but I used this particular one for my eclairs. Delicious and easy to make ,actually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Wonderful. I substituted the vanilla for amaretto and.........OMG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I love this pastry cream, it's so easy to put together (as long as you don't burn it!) & it's so delicious. Make sure to use good quality vanilla extract, the flavor shines through beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this today to incorporate into a trifle. It was very simple to make, quick and delicious. Like other reviewers have said, I tasted it before refrigerating it, and it was very difficult to not just grab a spoon and have at it! However, willpower prevailed, and now it is layered with chunks of chocolate donuts, fresh strawberries, chocolate pudding and Cool Whip in a most delightful and incredibly tasty dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Great cream for fillings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great filling for cake. Careful not to overcook or else you end up with a thick pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is nice and thick, but very finicky. Takes forever to get to a boil, but when it comes together, it's the perfect pastry filling for cream puffs. Very yummy. I did a double batch because of the number of cream puffs I had and I think it would have been better to make 2 individual batches. I think the time it took to boil was very much related to the volume of liquid being doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is what I think: I licked the whisk. And I'm a grown-up (hoping nobody was watching). I don't know anything about classic cooking methods, but my husband (who was a foodie before I ever met him) once made pastry cream & it was a big deal that he still talks about now, years later. Well. Here I am this afternoon, needing pastry cream for a recipe... so, you know, I just whip this one out. No problem. No lumps! Just go slow and follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States