Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I don't made any change it's wonderful. No crumbs no mess. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I prepared this recipe exactly as written and it turned out amazing! I used the custard/pudding as a bavarian cream ingredient in my breakfast crepes. I placed about 1/2 cup of the pastry cream along the middle, dropped fresh blueberries, raspberries and cut strawberries on top, folded it into a burrito shape, sprinkled with fresh squeezed lemon and dusted with powdered sugar! Awesome!! I did not use a double boiler, I stirred the ingredients very thoroughly before putting back into saucepan for second boil, not perfectly creamy (I had some slight lumps)but honestly, no one cared, it tasted so good!! Was worried about difficulty, it was not difficult at all. You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bimmerg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe and it turned out great but mine has lumps and I was lazy to strain it so i whisk it and slowly pour a little bit hot water and it turned out smooth again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe. I've tried it a couple times before. This time I cooked it over a double boiler stirring consistently. It was easy with great results. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is a basic pastry cream recipe. Pastry cream is exactly the same thing as cook and serve pudding, and was traditionally used to fill fruit tarts, pastries, cakes, etc. The woman who gave the recipe one star and was unable to fill her cakes with it clearly knows little about baking. Perhaps if you use it straight out of the fridge it will be thick and may tear a cake, but if you let it come to room temp there should be no problems. In either case, a torn cake can be repaired with buttercream. It just bothers me to see such a negative review for a recipe when there is absolutely nothing wrong with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this as a filling for cream puffs and it was perfect. It's not as sweet as commercial pudding and pie filling and its texture is different, so keep that in mind when making it. Be prepared to stir it for a long time as it slowly comes to a boil, but it's worth the wait. I had no problem with lumps. I had some left over and we just ate it as pudding later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Awesome Recipe! I was asked to make a Fruit Tart for clients from Italiy and this reminded them of home. No issues in making the recipe. One note, make sure to stir immediately once everything is combined and you are boiling a second time. It doesn't take long for this pastry cream to come together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this pastry cream to fill Boston cream cupcakes, and it was perfect!! I didn't have to add any whip cream, because it was very light as is. I filled 24 cupcakes and only used about half of the filling, so I could have filled 48 cupcakes. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Vestalia- I used to work as a baker and used a very thick pastry cream recipe much like this one. Heres a trick of the trade so you wont tear the cake, if you beat the pastry cream before using it it will soften and be much much easier to spread onto things like cakes and tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Ive worked as a pastry chef and been to culinary school.... this is the recipe I tried when at a friends on vacation. She wanted to buy a coconut cream pie from the frozen section of the grocery store and I just couldnt fathom that, so I told her Id make her the best one she'd ever eat. As it turns out its almost exactly the same recipe I first learned years ago. The only thing I might add to directions is after it thickens and comes to a low boil. Reduce heat to med. and beat with wisk constantly for 2-3 min. this will reduce the starchiness and give it a velvety smoothness. Its not overly sweet, so it lends itself to all kinds of variations. I added half a can of CocoLopez and 1 cup of Bakers Angel Flake coconut to a double batch. Topped with whipped cream, more coconut and finely chopped pecans. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States