Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Great recipe for a versatile cream. I have made this numerous times for my sons Jr. High class, we spoon the cream into chocolate molds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Amazing recipe! I will be using this as a filling for a strawberry tart. It was very easy, and I was very happy that this recipe didn't require heavy cream, as my old recipe used. One tip that I have is instead of straining the pastry cream at the end, sift the cornstarch and remaining sugar into your eggs. I find this MUCH easier than pushing the pastry cream through the strainer. One more thing- I did half this recipe. Just estimate the 1/2 egg, and you'll be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
The ingredients are okay but the directions are sketchy unless you know what you're doing. The milk should not be brought to boil as it adds a scorched flavor. Heat it to just before boil, to simmer. Also, you MUST temper the eggs properly to avoid scrambling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
perfect as the base for the mixed berry pie I made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
VERY GOOD! After using the flour method for years, I was happy to use this cornstarch variety. To make it easier ... Boil your milk & sugar in the microwave in a big glass Pyrex measuring cup. It will make it easier to pour the hot milk in the cornstarch/egg/sugar concoction. I mixed my egg mixture in a sauce pan & then added the hot milk a bit at a time. I stirred like heck while adding the hot milk & then put the final mixture on the heat. NO LUMPS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogandhowie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This pastry cream is absolutely delicious! I used 3 whole eggs instead of the yolk/egg combo, and filled a pie shell with the cream which i topped with fresh fruit. this made a very yummy fruit tart that everyone enjoyed. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Needs salt. Badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe was just right to make a small (8" round) banana cream pie. My husband requested a banana cream pie for his 40th birthday and I used this recipe. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this pastry cream. Like a couple of the others, I find it a little sweet and will use slightly less sugar next time. I will use less in the milk, but leave the same amount that I mix in the eggs. To the woman who thought this tasted like vanilla pudding, I REALLY want to know what pudding you are buying because I want it! I've never had pudding this good. It is thick, but I've worked in a bakery and it is no thicker than the pastry cream we used there. I did not use a double boiler and had no issue with scorching or getting it to boil. I did stir constantly. I also had no issue with lumps, I think the key to that is getting the sugar, cornstarch, egg mixture very smooth. Thank you for this! Perfect for my Boston Cream Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeresSheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
LOVE this recipe. Comes out perfect everytime! My one tip- dont leave it alone on the stove, even for a second. Also, dont stop whisking until its finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonmccarley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States