Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I did this for the first time ever and it came out pretty well. I used light coconut milk (lactose intolerant) and egg substitute. Yeah I had my doubts. I think next time I will make sure to have everything right next to the stove so I will not miss a beat of stirring and whisking because it wasn't as smooth as I think it should have been, but all in all it tasted great. After cooling in the fridge for about 3 hours I put it into a graham cracker pie crust and topped with fresh blueberries and strawberries. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VERONADRAGON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I never do actually follow a recipe, I used unsweetened coconut milk. I was amazing! No lumps, not too sweet and was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Thanks for posting this recipe, and thanks to everyone who commented-big help. I found this to be a very easy, quick and delicious pastry cream! I wanted something different than vanilla ice cream to put on top of apple empanadas. I made this quickly subbing vanilla with 1/2 a vanilla bean (seeds only), folded in whipped cream - guests loved it. This is definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I made this last night and it turned out excellent! I folded in whipped cream and used it for the filling of a pastry similar to the Napolean (or mille-feuille). It was easy, 100% lump free and delicious! My custard-obsessed husband couldn't get enough! I left it in the fridge overnight before folding in the whipped cream because I began preparing it quite late and was too sleepy to wait for it to cool! It was much firmer in the morning, more gelatinous even, but just needed a good whipping up and that brought back the velvety consistency. Excellent recipe, I'll be using it lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
this was really great XD Whenever i've had home made custard it's always had gross egg pieces in it but this one was great! I have a gas stove and I took the advice of another review and uses the double boiler methody thing XD it took a bit longer(an hour)but it tasted amazing and was completely smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
excellent!! enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
wow!wow! and wow! what a fabulous recipe. I have never made pastry cream before, so had no idea. this was so easy and yummy, the taste and consistency was perfect. thank you so much, will be using this all the time, thought about turning it into a chocolate cream by adding cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have never made pastry cream, but this recipe made it easy. I was worried about it scorching... So I went very slow with a low flame. It thickened in chunks but after a while it reached the same consistency, and a few tiny bubbles told me to take it off. Mine was lumpy despite all my mixing... So I gave it 30 seconds w my Immersion blender. It's perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
GREAT RECIPE! Not too sweet just right. Very simple to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Just like the Italian bakery I drive 45min for!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States