Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Yummy. Used this recipe as a filling for my fresh berry tart. I did make a few changes: I used 4 egg yolks instead of using 2 egg yolks and a whole egg. I omitted the butter, and I wanted a lot of vanilla flavour so used 2 teaspoons vanilla extract. I did not have any problems with lumps, but I used a whisk and whisked it the entire time it was on the stove. This recipe would be delicious in Boston Cream Pie, Cream puffs, or any kind of fruit tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by WickedCreations
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Very rich, thick, creamy texture! Its close to what they use in bakery shoppes but not exactly. It still works well..tastes very good! Its like custard/pudding like richness..Easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedCreations

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My pastry cream came out too thick and slightly lumpy, despite whisking at all times mentioned by other commenters. I think I will decrease the amount of corn starch next time. I will also stick to egg yolks only, as I felt the cream tasted too egg-y. The cream did have a nice taste! UPDATE: I forgot to mention I used lactose-free milk, but I'm pretty sure this wasn't the reason for the lumpiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is one of the most delicious foods I've ever eaten! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was a bit lumpy when I finished but it's going into a cake so it will not matter. It was quick to make and I would probably redo the same recipe for a cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by croy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thetford Mines, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
absolutely perfect!! not overtly sweet, just nice. plus it was ever so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindonut
Living In: Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Wow, this is so good. I reduced the sugar & put in a vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract. I use the filling for a strawberry tart. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is absolutely brilliant and I keep finding excuses to make it! It's also really great with nut liqueur (like Nocello or Frangelico) in place of the vanilla extract. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Fantastic! I added a cup of whipped topping to make it a little lighter so I could use it (along with strawberries) to fill crepes. Everybody said the filling was amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Was a terrific addition to my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States