Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My pastry cream came out too thick and slightly lumpy, despite whisking at all times mentioned by other commenters. I think I will decrease the amount of corn starch next time. I will also stick to egg yolks only, as I felt the cream tasted too egg-y. The cream did have a nice taste! UPDATE: I forgot to mention I used lactose-free milk, but I'm pretty sure this wasn't the reason for the lumpiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is one of the most delicious foods I've ever eaten! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was a bit lumpy when I finished but it's going into a cake so it will not matter. It was quick to make and I would probably redo the same recipe for a cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by croy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thetford Mines, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
absolutely perfect!! not overtly sweet, just nice. plus it was ever so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindonut
Living In: Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Wow, this is so good. I reduced the sugar & put in a vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract. I use the filling for a strawberry tart. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is absolutely brilliant and I keep finding excuses to make it! It's also really great with nut liqueur (like Nocello or Frangelico) in place of the vanilla extract. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Fantastic! I added a cup of whipped topping to make it a little lighter so I could use it (along with strawberries) to fill crepes. Everybody said the filling was amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Was a terrific addition to my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
WONDERFUL! I was really worried mine would turn out with lumps, but I did the following and mine was lump free! 1) When mixing the sugar and cornstarch, stir very well to ensure there are no clumps before pouring into egg mixture. 2) Start whisking before and during the drizzling. 3) Start stirring the final mixture as soon as you place it back on the stove and are waiting for it to boil. Thanks for this great recipe - this one's a keeper! PS - The amount of sugar this recipe calls for is great - just sweet enough but not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
AMAZING!!! I used 4 yolks and zero whites because I find whites make it taste too "eggy". I also added a pinch of salt because everything needs salt. Used it as filling for a Boston Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States