Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
i found this recipe too sweet and too floury in texture. i would just add 1/4 cup sugar to the egg mixture and not use sugar in the milk, and use 1/8 cup flour instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone at my sisters Christmas party LOVED it! I should've made a second batch because it was gone in minutes! I put the pastry cream in little phyllo cups and garnished them with shaved chocolate. So easy and so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very easy to make and very good! I like the fact it doesn't require so many egg yolks like a regular custard would. Tastes just like creme brulee! I used it as a filling for two cakes I sold and customers loved it =) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Spot on!! added some sweetened flaked coconut for a cream pie that was winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Perfect pastry cream - followed the recipe exactly and turned out exactly how I wanted. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
OK, but not quite rich enough for our taste, imo, needs more egg to be a classic pastry cream. Also, if you're having trouble w/lumps, it's probably that you cooked it on too high a heat - cornstarch cooked over med-high will tend to lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was amazing.. very delicious BUT next time I will cut down the corn flour to one spoon!! The taste of corn flour was TOO obvious while eating and it gave it a 'weird' taste, but nevertheless it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was super delicious, with the perfect amount of sweetness. One tip though: it was very lumpy even after whisking continuously while waiting for it to boil again. After I took it off the stove, I whisked VIGOROUSLY!!! That seemed to do the trick, as it was now smooth and creamy! I didn't know I could make this type of cream filling. I have always searched for one, and now I found the perfect recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wonderful! I don't know why I waited so long to rate this. I make this in a double boiler to avoid scorching and for an easier cleanup. Comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My 1st attempt at Pastry Cream & what a super-duper success!I'm so thankful for everybody who has reviewed this! :) I made only 1 change to the recipe, & that was to use two whole eggs instead of 2 yolks and 1 whole.Another tip that I stayed very faithful to was to use an electric hand whisk.So whilst the milk-sugar mixture was boiling,I whisked the eggs & then added the cornstarch-sugar mixture spoon by spoon into the eggs antil fully incorporated.The result is that there's absolutely no scope for lumps!Also,I used the 'eggs tempering' technique when combining the boiling hot milk mixture & the egg mixture.I took about half cup of the milk mixture and added it in a very thin stream (not necessarily a continuous stream),whilst using my electric hand whisk all the while.I repeated this with another 1/2 cup of the milk mixture to increase the overall temperature of the egg mixture,before finally adding the entire egg mixture into the remaining milk mixture, once again whisking all the while.Once fully combined,I put it back on the stove for boiling, stirring continuously.You need to be very alert because it starts to thicken very suddenly, and if you aren't careful,you'll have lumps in your pastry cream despite all the hard work.Once it had thickened,I took it off the stove, & again used my electric hand whisk to whisk it well and ensure there were no lumps. It doesn't need to be whisked severely...just enough to ensure it's lump free.PERFECT!Thanks ChristiniBeanie!A keeper! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States