Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
When j tasted them I melted! (literally) It was just SOOOOO awesome and people should try. It made me feel like life is heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Exactly what I needed to fill my cake. Not too runny, not too stiff. I was worried while it was cooking, because it looked like it was getting lumpy, but I kept whisking and it smoothed right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is delicious!!!! Even better with a seeded vanilla bean (along with some of the extract). Great flavor....not just plain sweet. I love to use it as a filling for eclairs. I always pass my custards through a mesh strainer to make sure they are extremely creamy and free of lumps, even if they don't seem to need it. I like to be absolutely possitive that it will be a completely creamy indulgence for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMAOF4NOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
i found this recipe too sweet and too floury in texture. i would just add 1/4 cup sugar to the egg mixture and not use sugar in the milk, and use 1/8 cup flour instead of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone at my sisters Christmas party LOVED it! I should've made a second batch because it was gone in minutes! I put the pastry cream in little phyllo cups and garnished them with shaved chocolate. So easy and so delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very easy to make and very good! I like the fact it doesn't require so many egg yolks like a regular custard would. Tastes just like creme brulee! I used it as a filling for two cakes I sold and customers loved it =) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Spot on!! added some sweetened flaked coconut for a cream pie that was winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Perfect pastry cream - followed the recipe exactly and turned out exactly how I wanted. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States