Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe!!! It is perfectly fine with less sugar too, I don't know why others said it wasn't -- better even, as the original is really too sweet. Very versatile too! Made some today with a ton of spices hoping it would turn out like a sort of eggnog pudding... wasn't quite that, and still a little too sweet so I added some pumpkin and voila! Pumpkin pie pudding. Makes a great fruit dip! Plain recipe is also great with a Tb. of amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
To sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
After eating at Extraordinary Desserts and tasting very elaborate cakes with mysteriously layers upon layers I figured out one of the layers was pastry cream. I decided to make my own similar cake at home and whipped this recipe up. The only difference is that I bake with liquid eggs so I used whole liquid eggs (1/2 cup) instead of dealing with egg yolks. Turned out perfect and didn't have to bring it to a boil the second time because it thickened up quickly so I just did a lot of whisking to ensure it stayed smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Really good recipe! For the filling i decided to use the Pastry Cream recipes on this site because it was from scratch and didnt require any pudding mix. Which by the way, is a WONDERFUL recipe. Really easy to make and tastes just like custard. Everything turned out perfectly and the eclairs rose quite a lot but when I lowered the temperature I also rotated the eclairs which was a mistake. Make sure NOT to open the oven while cooking these because they will basically completely deflate. Other than that, This was a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made it to use as a filling for boston cream pie that I made. It was pretty good, straight forward and easy. It did solidify a little too much too quickly for my taste though. The taste was great, no egginess or anything, but it felt like we were eating vanilla pudding. I was more looking for the somewhat runny and smooth consistency you find in the boston cream doughnuts. It was far from that unfortunately. If you want a good pudding recipe that becomes very jelly-like, then this is the reipe for you. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I lost the recipe that I copied from an old Le Cordon Bleu cookbook, so I decided to use this. Very good decision. The flavor was identical; not too sweet, smooth, and it went well with anything I made. My only problem was that it never thickened properly. I chilled it and tried everything I could, but it never thickened past a runny pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Even after I goofed up the recipe (put all the sugar together with milk instead of 1/4 cup), it still worked out and tasted great! It was easy and I didn't have to use 12 eggs like the recipe I was going to use. I can't wait til it chills and gets put into the center of my red velvet mini cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
omg!!!!!!! who knew how easy it would be to make my own pastry cream and it was sooooo much better than a $6 bag.by accident, i added the egg slowly to the hot cream and sugar mixture and whisked my heart out and there was no need for it to boil and still had no lumps or cooked eggs. it thickened as i poured the egg in pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this with the three eggs, otherwise followed directions. Smooth, rich, sweet, but not too. My husband thought it delicious. I used it in some omelette/crepes I made, filled with the cream and strawberry slices, for Father's Day. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This pastry cream has an okay taste, but the consistency is way off. I always strain my pastry cream before folding in the butter, and first it didn't thicken on the stove, so I tried to see if I kept it on for a minute to boil (still whisking) it would thicken.. it didn't. So I strained it and then folded in the butter. After a few minutes cooling on the counter with plastic wrap on the top, it started to get lumpy. As a baking and pastry culinary student, I will continue using the recipe I was given from my chef instructor. Also I have never heard of anyone adding any egg white to pastry cream..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyrstenlynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States