Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is what I think: I licked the whisk. And I'm a grown-up (hoping nobody was watching). I don't know anything about classic cooking methods, but my husband (who was a foodie before I ever met him) once made pastry cream & it was a big deal that he still talks about now, years later. Well. Here I am this afternoon, needing pastry cream for a recipe... so, you know, I just whip this one out. No problem. No lumps! Just go slow and follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I am a retired chef and I found this recipe exceptionally good for storing in the fridge for upto 7days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I used all of the ingredients but changed it around a bit. I always put all of the dry ingredients as well as the milk & butter in the sauce pan & thoroughly combined. I never use whole eggs when making pastry cream. I used 4 yolks & lightly whisked them and set them aside. In the sauce pan, I cook on medium or slightly hotter then medium until the mixture comes to a boil. I move the mixture off of the heat and "temper" the eggs by taking a ladle of the hot mixture and drizzling it into the yolks slowly while quickly whisking the two together. Then I whisk the egg mixture back into the pan and bring to a boil until thickened. Transfer it to a bowl if you wish for it to cool then put a piece of plastic wrap over the bowl but put it right down on top of the cream so it does not form a "skin". Air will cause a skin to form. If this happens, whisk it or use electric beaters to fluff it before use. For a richer cream, use half & half or heavy cream instead of the milk. If you do, it will most likely thicken quickly. I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I just finished making this. It was so simple!! Right now it's cooling in the refrigerator but I, of course, tasted a little bit before covering it with the plastic wrap and for me it was the perfect amount of sweet. I gave it 4 stars because as of right now it's not quite as thick as I want it to be BUT BUT BUT it IS still warm so I'm guessing (and hoping) it will thicken up considerably once it is completely cooled. I plan on using this between cake layers and I made my butter yellow cake so I think it will go beautifully together. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Sea, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Fantastic! Made this exactly as presented. Stirred constantly which made it very smooth. We have chickens that lay brown eggs, and their richer yolks gave the cream a wonderful, rich yellow color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mayville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is a really good basic recipe to make "as is". It was a little sweeter than I expected, but delicious nonetheless. The only adjustment I made was to strain the pastry cream once cooked. This was my own fault though, because I left it on the heat a *little* too long and it got a bit grainy, but a quick straining fixes that right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I'd like to say that this was delicious in a cake or pie but it never made it that far. Once it cooled it was devoured by 2 adults and 2 children. Would be perfect with some seasonal fruit, if it can last that long in the house. :) Yes, definitely a keeper, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Luscious and rich, with clear cut directions and dependable results. Certainly one to remember for the future. I used this for individual dishes of vanilla pudding – layered Hubs’ with a Raspberry Melba sauce. I kept mine plain and didn’t miss any embellishment at all, save for a little whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I have used this recipe several times to fill cakes. It is sturdy, easy and delicious! I also use it as the cream in fruit tarts. So good! I will certainly be using this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is my first time making a pastry cream and it turned out delicious. I made it exactly as recipe & I had no problems with clumping. I used it to make a puff pastry cake. Thanks for a tasty cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States