Pastry Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
just made it, very easy and delicious I almost ate the whole thing right out of the pan rather than put it on my trifle, so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Super easy to make and able to add to other pastries as a filling or leave as a regular custard. delicious any way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have not tried ,but am looking forward to maklng it.Sounds easy enough. That is what I like about it. I have been looking for a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is a fantastic pastry cream recipe. First, I must say, I have been making cake and pastry professionally for almost ten years. I have replaced my former tried-and-true recipe with this one, as this achieves the exact purpose that pastry cream serves. It's thick, not pasty, and sweet enough. If it seems too thick, after you cook it and chill it, you can just stir it with a whisk to loosen it up. You can also use whole eggs or just yolks. If you use whole eggs instead of yolks, replace every two yolks with one whole egg to make it a bit lighter. Similarly, replace one egg with two yolks for a creamier, denser custard. The thickness of the pastry cream depends on how long you cook it. Before adding the eggs to the pot, whisk in about a third of the hot milk into the eggs to warm them, then whisk the egg mix back into the pot. Stir with whisk constantly (on medium-high heat, for me) till mixture begins to boil, then whisk like crazy (carefully) till it begins to thicken. Pull it off the heat when it looks just thick enough. Remember that it'll continue to cook slightly as it sits. If you want a looser cream, don't cook it till it's super thick in the pot. Whisk your softened butter in thoroughly. Don't leave streaks of melted butter. Mix in your vanilla (I use 1.5 t of bourbon vanilla extract) thoroughly, and push the custard through a strainer. Always strain your custards! Even if you don't have curdled egg in your mix, it gives you a more refined final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Q Hush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
just made this for the first time, very easy to make but keep your eye on it because it with thicken in an instant. Like a thick custard that holds some shape, very tasty and sweet, will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I don't rate too many recipes (not as many as I should anyway). But, I had to for this one. I've always used a flour based version because I thought cornstarch had a funny taste and was too difficult...boy, was I wrong. This recipe is the best custard recipe I've ever tried. Easy, fool proof and so delicious! Made exactly as written and it was wonderful. Thanks so much for the recipe! Edit: Made this again today with chocolate added to it-splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Delicious bakery worthy cream! Made this to use as filling for the Cream Puff Cake recipe from this site- perfect! Wondering if I could make it maple flavored for the fall, maybe use maple syrup instead of sugar, might have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I've made this twice now and both times it was PERFECT! Followed the recipe exactly. No clumps if you whisk the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yum! My first time making custard.. Followed instructions and it came out beautiful. Did reduce sugar to 1/4 + 1/4 and it tasted great for me. Might even reduce a tad more next time. But recipe's a keeper surely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This recipe is exceptional for texture and ease of making it. I still gave it 5 stars even though it's a little sweet for my tastes, but that's not a reason to give it less stars. I am going to whip heavy cream and fold this in as soon as it's cool for a filling for cream puffs cause I like my filling a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States