Pastrami Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Giving 4 stars with changes: I pounded the chix flat & rolled with pastrami; made a pretty plate presentation. Left out bacon. increased broth by 1/2 cup & just added the uncooked rice with rest of ingredients; mixed & poured over the pastrami/chicken rolls. Covered to cook & turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I took into consideration the comments about soggy bacon and revised the recipe a bit. Instead of wrapping the bacon around the chicken, I wrapped the pastrami around the chicken, then fried up the bacon and crumbled it over the top of the dish before baking. It turned out wonderfully. The only negative comment I would make was that the cream sauce was a bit gloppy. Maybe it was because I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream (I was out of sour cream) but I doubt it. Flavor was still good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
wow, really liked this. had to cook alittle longer , big breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This dish is wonderful. My only change is that I COVER the rice with pastrami. Comfort food...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Has a good taste, I did two things differently. I added 1 cup water to the sour cream and condensed soup mixture. The rice cooked up better. I also used deli sliced pastrami and only needed approximately 2-3 oz. I cooked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, covered and then 400 degrees for 15 uncovered to make the bacon crisper. Lastly, do not use thick bacon, it will NEVER cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
very tasty, I made it w/out the pastrami though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Nice blend of flavors. Bacon didn't cook. Doubled the time....then raised the heat. I agree with the others...partially cook the bacon and raise the temp...add some spices to the sour cream blend to spice it up if desired...very good base for many variables/additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
The flavor in this recipe is good. But the bacon needs to be cooked first so it is not slimey. The tempature should be uped some and you should really cover this dish in the oven for a while so that your rice stays tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This is a great recipe. I made it for my neices and nephew, ages 6,8 and 11. They each had two pieces of chicken. I didn't wrap the bacon around the chicken because I had none substituted fresh mushrooms for the canned. I topped it with onion soup mix. Absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I would probably make this again but with some changes. The flavor was good, but it definitely was not done in 30 to 40 minutes. Breast tenders might a better option that breasts cut in half. After 50 minutes, I ended up raising the oven temp to 350 which could have caused it to dry out a little on top. I partially cooked the bacon and used ham instead of pastrami. It might a good idea to add a little more broth and/or cover it for a portion of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States