Pastitsio IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This was pretty good. It had a very nice flavor with all the Parmesan cheese. Next time, I do plan to use a little less macaroni, but overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Awesome. Good stuff. Everyone loved it! Will make this one a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My Greek boyfriend raved about this to his mother. Except he said I used the wrong noodles - his mother uses penne pasta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I'm giving this recipe a four because I think it would have been much better if I had followed the recipe more closely...I used crushed tomatoes (because that's what I had on hand) instead of diced tomatoes and I think that was a problem. As another reviewer mentioned, I also would reduce the amount of pasta if I make this again. The sauce over the top was great! (I might even consider increasing the sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I found this recipe to be a bit bland. I will add some nutmeg next time. I will also increase the amount of bechamel as I like my pastitsio very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
We made this for the neighbors and served with a salad. Thought it was going to end up dry but really was not as you would think. Maybe could up the bechamel a little if you wanted an obvious sauce but proabably would not be as authentic. Good to esemble ahead of time and bake later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this today, very carefully, and I'd have to say it's a failure: two dry pasta layers, a not-very-flavorful beef layer, and a bland bechamel layer. I'd recommend trying one of the other pastitsio recipes. A properly made bechamel sauce (requires patience and lots of stirring) and some nutmeg are important; look for a recipe with those features.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very tast. I spiced it up a little by addeing some chilli flakes and a dash of tomato chilli sauce to the meat while browning. I cooked the meat in the tomato juice till about half done before baking it. Also I think it would be better with more white sauce topping.. So next time I am going to thicken 2 cups of milk. A pinch of salt and pepper in the white sauce in also needed. I added the whole egg... (hate wasting the egg white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Used penne instead, 2 cans of stewed tomatoes chopped & drained, b/c it is what I had on hand. Also at least doubled the cream sauce and voila, my family loved this!!!!! My husband just keeps saying "YUM!" over and over........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAD6363
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I read reviews on this before starting so I did double the sauce. I used 2.5 tbsp of both butter and flour, then added 2 cups of milk. Then added it to 2 egg yolks. DO NOT throw out the whites, you can whisk it and then add it to the sauce it makes if lighter. I didn't add parmesan to sauce either I put it on top with a bit of nutmeg. I have to say I will use less pasta next time and more tomatoes this was dry and it needs more herbs as well. Neither my husband were really fussy on this and we both love greek food. Maybe with a few changes this might be a 5 star in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States