Pastitsio IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My hubby loved this. I didn't have the right noodles and if I had it would have been perfect. Great flavor! Added a little red pepper flake as we like heat and a little more chopped garlic. Found this on a whim, tried it on my hubby (culinary test subject) and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Read the reviews and doubled the tomatoes and sauce - turned out great! Didn't taste very Greek to me - comments about adding nutmeg probably would have helped. All the same we really enjoyed it and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My hubby requested this dish and he LOVED this version! My picky kids even had seconds! I did double the sauce recipe and it was the perfect amount. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is amazing. The only changes I make: I add a diced green pepper, a little bit more cheese than what is called for here, and just a little bit of hot sauce in the meat and tomato layer to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was really good. I used leftover Trader Joe's mac n cheese (the kind from a box) in place of the noodles, and added a frozen pesto cube (ice-cube sized) to the sauce. Yum! My daughter asked if we could make it again tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make. Taste was OK, nothing special. Not sure which part makes this dish 'Greek', flavors were no different than other tomato-pasta bakes I have done in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I read reviews on this before starting so I did double the sauce. I used 2.5 tbsp of both butter and flour, then added 2 cups of milk. Then added it to 2 egg yolks. DO NOT throw out the whites, you can whisk it and then add it to the sauce it makes if lighter. I didn't add parmesan to sauce either I put it on top with a bit of nutmeg. I have to say I will use less pasta next time and more tomatoes this was dry and it needs more herbs as well. Neither my husband were really fussy on this and we both love greek food. Maybe with a few changes this might be a 5 star in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Used penne instead, 2 cans of stewed tomatoes chopped & drained, b/c it is what I had on hand. Also at least doubled the cream sauce and voila, my family loved this!!!!! My husband just keeps saying "YUM!" over and over........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAD6363
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very tast. I spiced it up a little by addeing some chilli flakes and a dash of tomato chilli sauce to the meat while browning. I cooked the meat in the tomato juice till about half done before baking it. Also I think it would be better with more white sauce topping.. So next time I am going to thicken 2 cups of milk. A pinch of salt and pepper in the white sauce in also needed. I added the whole egg... (hate wasting the egg white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this today, very carefully, and I'd have to say it's a failure: two dry pasta layers, a not-very-flavorful beef layer, and a bland bechamel layer. I'd recommend trying one of the other pastitsio recipes. A properly made bechamel sauce (requires patience and lots of stirring) and some nutmeg are important; look for a recipe with those features.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States