Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
The best pastitsio recipe I've found yet. Tastes incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Delicious! My husband loved this recipe. I used extra lean hamburger and skim milk in the white sauce and it didn't taste like I'd used anything low calorie. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband and I loved this! I have made many pastitsio recipes before, but this one is my favorite. I loved the taste of the fresh tomatoes in it. At first I was leary about even trying this recipe. First because I thought it was going to be a hassle to peel and seed the tomatoes, but that was easy. Secondly because of the chili powder. I just thought how greek does that sound? But I made it exactly per the recipe and am so glad I did. seriously, this is good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
Absolutely great! Plus, by using fresh ingredients, the calories are about 1/2 of the other pastitsio recipies. But, just because it's lower-cal, doesn't mean it sacrifices -anything- on taste. This pastitsio is incredible... even my picky 5 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Delicious - This smelled fantastic while it was cooking (from the cinnamon) and tasted even better. I left out the allspice because I just don't care for it (who knows - maybe I'll try it with the allspice sometime and see what I'm missing), but I was still left with a dish that was to die for. I'll be keeping this recipe for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I followed the recipe to the letter, and the pastitsio was awesome! I'll make it for family gatherings from now on, and I'm sure they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Don't skip the cinnamon - they have discovered that cinnamon in the diet is excellent for lowering cholesterol. I specifically went looking for a recipe with the cinnamon, as it is more authentic with this ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Wonderful!!! Cant say enough about it. I LOVE pastitsio and cant find it too often outside of Greektown in Chicago. Took me back to Diana's! The spices were just perfect and the way it tasted! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Very different but in the best way. I had never had pastitsio before but I love it! The only modification that I made was I doubled the white sauce, but I only used 3/4 of it. (I am very much a sauce lover) However, I don't think the dish would've been any less wonderful if I had just left it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is "soul food". The spices make it interesting, and even my fussy son enjoyed it. It was still great as leftovers! If you are in a pinch you can substitute the fresh tomatoes with well drained canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States