Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Delicious! My husband loved this recipe. I used extra lean hamburger and skim milk in the white sauce and it didn't taste like I'd used anything low calorie. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Have been using this recipe for years and decided it was time I thank David for publishing and sharing. David, I'm a professional chef/caterer, and there's no better authentic pastitsio than this recipe, right down to the red wine vinegar. It's perfect the way it is written. For those of you who change it until it's unrecognizable, and then review it, shame on you. Prepare it the way it's written, and if you want to change it drastically ---- publish your own recipe, don't review this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband and I loved this! I have made many pastitsio recipes before, but this one is my favorite. I loved the taste of the fresh tomatoes in it. At first I was leary about even trying this recipe. First because I thought it was going to be a hassle to peel and seed the tomatoes, but that was easy. Secondly because of the chili powder. I just thought how greek does that sound? But I made it exactly per the recipe and am so glad I did. seriously, this is good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Wonderful!!! Cant say enough about it. I LOVE pastitsio and cant find it too often outside of Greektown in Chicago. Took me back to Diana's! The spices were just perfect and the way it tasted! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
It was delicious! My kids loved it - I would probably make extra white sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This comes pretty close to the pastitsio I used to get at a neighborhood restaurant that closed. I make more sauce than the recipe calls for, but the flavor is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
The best pastitsio recipe I've found yet. Tastes incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I thought the entire dish was good except the white sauce was very bland. This recipe is good enough to keep, but I won't make it with the white sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I did not like this recipe. WAAY to spicy. WAAAy too much cinnamon and allspice. Has potential to be good, but lose the cinnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
Absolutely great! Plus, by using fresh ingredients, the calories are about 1/2 of the other pastitsio recipies. But, just because it's lower-cal, doesn't mean it sacrifices -anything- on taste. This pastitsio is incredible... even my picky 5 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States