Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband and I loved this! I have made many pastitsio recipes before, but this one is my favorite. I loved the taste of the fresh tomatoes in it. At first I was leary about even trying this recipe. First because I thought it was going to be a hassle to peel and seed the tomatoes, but that was easy. Secondly because of the chili powder. I just thought how greek does that sound? But I made it exactly per the recipe and am so glad I did. seriously, this is good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Don't skip the cinnamon - they have discovered that cinnamon in the diet is excellent for lowering cholesterol. I specifically went looking for a recipe with the cinnamon, as it is more authentic with this ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I followed the recipe to the letter, and the pastitsio was awesome! I'll make it for family gatherings from now on, and I'm sure they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either. Seemed like a lot of work for just an okay meal. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Delicious - This smelled fantastic while it was cooking (from the cinnamon) and tasted even better. I left out the allspice because I just don't care for it (who knows - maybe I'll try it with the allspice sometime and see what I'm missing), but I was still left with a dish that was to die for. I'll be keeping this recipe for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This comes pretty close to the pastitsio I used to get at a neighborhood restaurant that closed. I make more sauce than the recipe calls for, but the flavor is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Delicious! My husband loved this recipe. I used extra lean hamburger and skim milk in the white sauce and it didn't taste like I'd used anything low calorie. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
I did not like this recipe. WAAY to spicy. WAAAy too much cinnamon and allspice. Has potential to be good, but lose the cinnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
Absolutely great! Plus, by using fresh ingredients, the calories are about 1/2 of the other pastitsio recipies. But, just because it's lower-cal, doesn't mean it sacrifices -anything- on taste. This pastitsio is incredible... even my picky 5 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
It was delicious! My kids loved it - I would probably make extra white sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States