Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I WASN'T THRILLED WITH THIS RECIPE, IT WAS A HASSLE TO MAKE AND IT REALLY WAS ONLY OKAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Pomponio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was good considering that I did not know what to expect (never had pastitsio before). I used a basil pasta sauce because I did not have plain tomato sauce and a drained can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh. Instead of broth, I swirled 1/4 cup of water in the tomato sauce jar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. It took me 1 1/2 hours to get this into the oven and completely destroyed the kitchen. Was it worth it? Eh...it was good, but not extraordinary. I doubt I would do this again unless someone wanted me to. If I did, I would double the sauce as others suggested and maybe swirl it around instead of just having it sit on the top layer. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This dish has great flavor! I used a very well-drained can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, and it still worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I would give this a 3, my husband a 5, so 4 is the average. I thought this tasted like jazzed up baked ziti, nothing special. I was also disappointed by the lack of cheese flavor (I used fresh grated parm, and 2x the recommended amount). I have to admit I cut the red pepper to 1/4 tsp because I can't handle spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I used ground lamb instead of ground beef in this, and other than that, I followed this recipe to a "T". It was great. I can't wait to make it again, although I think I will increase the amount of meat in it. It could have used just a little bit more for my taste, just because it tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was an easy recipe, and teriffically good!!! I followed the recipe exactly. (hard for me!) I just added an extra dash of cinnamon... This was so good I got up in the middle of the night and had a cold snack!!! Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This is "soul food". The spices make it interesting, and even my fussy son enjoyed it. It was still great as leftovers! If you are in a pinch you can substitute the fresh tomatoes with well drained canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Very different but in the best way. I had never had pastitsio before but I love it! The only modification that I made was I doubled the white sauce, but I only used 3/4 of it. (I am very much a sauce lover) However, I don't think the dish would've been any less wonderful if I had just left it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Wonderful!!! Cant say enough about it. I LOVE pastitsio and cant find it too often outside of Greektown in Chicago. Took me back to Diana's! The spices were just perfect and the way it tasted! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband and I loved this! I have made many pastitsio recipes before, but this one is my favorite. I loved the taste of the fresh tomatoes in it. At first I was leary about even trying this recipe. First because I thought it was going to be a hassle to peel and seed the tomatoes, but that was easy. Secondly because of the chili powder. I just thought how greek does that sound? But I made it exactly per the recipe and am so glad I did. seriously, this is good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States