Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
i have always wanted to try pastitsio and this was a great introduction! my favorite part is that it is a smaller amount than most other recipes i've seen. everything is delightfully seasoned and the white sauce on top had the perfect amount of creaminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I'd give it a 3.5 if I could, as the sauce tasted quite good. I made one change that didn't work well - I increased the amount of noodles, and it ended up quite dry and not saucy enough and the bechemel was too thin. I also used a 9x13" pan (recipe didn't say what size square pan to use), and I a smaller casserole dish would have resulted in a more moist Pastitsio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very good recipe for Greek Lasagna. If you want a change from the usual Italian lasagna, try this. Don't be afraid to use the extra cinnamon this recipe suggests to top with, either. I was out of milk, so I improvised with cream and water... 1 cup cream to half a cup water. Still came out beautifully. Also, used a can of well drained diced tomatoes rather than fresh. This dish has a much milder taste than traditional lasagna as well, so keep that in mind. It is still certainly worth experiencing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this for a Christmas Eve dinner with a Greek theme - it was a HIT! I had few leftovers from the two pans I made of it. Even my 8 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good recipe. I did not have roma tomatoes so I substituted a can of petite diced tmoatoes w/ jalapenos' and it worked out fine and gave it just a little bit of a kick to it. I'll try it again with the right ingreidients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I used this recipe as a 'base' and made some changes that resulted in my Greek friends SMILING and asking for this to be added to the dinner rotation!!!!!!!! I used Perciatelli instead of elbow macaroni. I omited the plum tomatoes, red wine vinegar, chili powder and chicken stock. I used 8 oz of pre-made marinara sauce. I added 3 TBS of beer and cooked it until the alcohol was evaporated (didn't take long). With the white sauce I added 2 TBS of cream cheese and an additional 1/4 cup parmesean cheese. The results were CRAZYYYYYY good! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Mixed reviews at our house on this. I liked this a lot. It was something really different from our usual. I have never had patitsio before, so I cannot say whether this is really good for a patitsio dish, but I can say it is good whatever it is and I enjoyed it very much. My son and husband preferred I make this without the cinnamon and allspice. I didn't have roma tomatoes, so I simply used a large regular tomato, diced. I skipped peeling the skin. I'd like to make this one again. Thanks for sharing this so we could try it David.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Sorry, this wasn't for me. Those that are a fan of the traditional Greek dish may not like that I am only giving 2 stars. After all, I should have known it would have a different taste by the spices. But I had to give it a try. The kids liked it, my picky 6 year old had 4 servings. It takes too much work though. You can read the recipe, but until you've actually made it you don't realize how much work goes into what seems to be a simple dish. I thought to myself, after eating it...that I could make it real good by changing the spices and then adding some cheese on top. But why? There are so many other recipes out there to try. I think I'll just chalk this one up to experience. Thanks for the recipe, but it doesn't suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
DH loved this; I liked it quite a bit. I didn't find it as complicated or as messy as others did. I used 15 oz can of diced tomatoes, saving that step. I did the white sauce in the microwave, which is always much easier (and less messy). Subbed butter for margarine. Next time, would add some salt to the white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Very very tasty.....but you better have your dish washer empty b/c it dirties a lot of dishes and it turns your kitchen into a disaster. If I had kids, I'm sure they would love this meal...it's really really good. It makes good leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States