Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good! We all enjoyed it, but I don't know if it'll be a regular dish around here. It is a fairly complex and time consuming recipe. A little heavy on the cinnamon/allspice. Edited to add: This was Horrible the next day! The topping was actually disgusting. Does not fare well for leftovers, so we will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good! I didn't have the fresh tomatoes, so I subbed a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes (1lb) and it turned out wonderful! This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The flavor of this was really wonderful! I've never had pastitsio before so it was a treat to make this. Had to sub penne as that's what I had, and canned diced tomatoes (I know...) but it was good. This used a ton of dishes to make, but worth it. I was a little leery when putting it together, but glad we tried this one. My only real complaint is how the recipe was written... Calls for salt in the directions and no salt listed in the ingredients. Does not say to bake covered or uncovered (chose uncovered). Also added a touch of salt to the white sauce, as my parm was not very salty and I used unsalted butter. Will definitely make again, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Great stuff! It was a huge effort, but my family liked it so it worked out. They want to have it again, though it told them they'd have to make it themselves next time! My biggest problem making this was getting the meat sauce to thicken - I cooked it for 40 minutes and it was still watery. I ended up baking it a half hour longer which got rid of the extra water, which was three hours of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
very good but it didn't quite serve 6. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I thought the entire dish was good except the white sauce was very bland. This recipe is good enough to keep, but I won't make it with the white sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My family thought this was very bland the night I made it. I had some left overs the next day for lunch and it was even more boring. The only change I made was to use canned tomatoes instead of fresh which I know would have added a little bit more flavor. Because of the canned tomatoes though it wasn't as much work as I expected but I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I found that this was a little bland--I really like strong flavours--and would have added more of the spices. My husband and son liked it very much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Due to reviews, I decided to make this in two stages: by cooking the meat and the pasta ahead of time and then assembling the next day for dinner. Even with trying very hard to consolidate dishes/utensils, this still generated quite a bit of dishes and clean up. Was it worth it? Yes... but.... just for "occasionally". This has a very unique flavor from the cinnnamon, allspice, and the two different sauces. Hubby and I enjoyed it very much:our teen not-so-much. We have had Pastitisio before, and don't recall it having cinnamon in it. Although very good, I think I would prefer to substitute oregano and nutmeg instead for the cinnnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I liked it, very tasty. but very involving. Definitely a meal to make when you have free time on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States