Pastitsio III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Tasty but too much chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Very good! I made as written with the addition of 1/2 tsp. salt in each the meat and cream sauce. I will increase the salt a bit more in the cream sauce next time (just to make it perfect! :-). This was a dry run before committing to making this for a party. Will check back in afterward with guest comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is definitely a keeper. I added the spices to taste, and it ended up being about half of each of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This dish turned out to be very tasty! We had Cat Cora's Pastitsio at her place in Disney World but the recipes I had found were all for too large a number of servings for my family. This looked interesting and I had most ingredients on hand so we gave it a try. Turned out very good. Changes I made due to my pantry were: I used a shredded combo of mozzarella and parmesian for the cheese, canned diced tomatoes, chicken broth instead of stock, and I was careful with the spices. I did not use chili powder- just salt and black pepper- and I started with half the amounts of allspice and cinnamon. Basically spiced to taste until I got it where I liked it. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a hit at our Christmas feast & much appreciated because I was able to make a day ahead of time & just pop in the oven on fest day. Probably better this way as always the flavors melded together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
First, let me list my omissions, additions and substitutions, because I took the lazy route with this dish. I substituted regate penne for elbow macaroni to make it more authenic; I omitted the roma tomatoes, onions and garlic and used a 14.5 oz canned of diced tomatoes with onions and garlic instead; I omitted the chicken stock and red wine vinegar and used a quarter cup of Boulder brewery Mojo IPA (although there are lots of other beers anyone use); I added 1/2 teaspoon each unsweetened cocoa powder and garlic salt to the spices and I used butter instead of margarine. I had to boil the meat sauce down for twenty minutes or so, but that's O.K., I didn't have to heat up the oven because my 8x8 square glass pan fits in the toaster oven. I rely heavily on my toaster oven in the summer to bake casseroles when I don't want to heat up the kitchen with my regular oven, and the main reason I chose this recipe over the others is because it yielded a smaller amount. Anyway, this was really easy, it turned out delicious, my husband loved it (much cheaper than going to the local Greek restaurant!) and I will definitely make it again. The only thing I might do differently is use an ounce or so less pasta so it all fits a bit more comfortably in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Authentic pastitsio uses ziti noodles, and I've never heard of some of these ingredients being in the pastitsio recipes I've made. It still tastes pretty good though to be honest, just not what I had hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emileighx0x

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very good! We all enjoyed it, but I don't know if it'll be a regular dish around here. It is a fairly complex and time consuming recipe. A little heavy on the cinnamon/allspice. Edited to add: This was Horrible the next day! The topping was actually disgusting. Does not fare well for leftovers, so we will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very good! I didn't have the fresh tomatoes, so I subbed a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes (1lb) and it turned out wonderful! This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The flavor of this was really wonderful! I've never had pastitsio before so it was a treat to make this. Had to sub penne as that's what I had, and canned diced tomatoes (I know...) but it was good. This used a ton of dishes to make, but worth it. I was a little leery when putting it together, but glad we tried this one. My only real complaint is how the recipe was written... Calls for salt in the directions and no salt listed in the ingredients. Does not say to bake covered or uncovered (chose uncovered). Also added a touch of salt to the white sauce, as my parm was not very salty and I used unsalted butter. Will definitely make again, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States