Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
Instead of bucatini, I used maccheroncini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
This is delicious!!! My Mother-in-law who is Greek has been making this for years and everyone loves this popular Greek casserole! I made this for dinner last night and she said that it was excellent! I thought that was a great compliment coming from a Greek! Everyone loves this, even my picky husband and teenage son and they are always looking for any leftovers. My son requests this and now I can make it myself just like Yiayia's! I used Muellers ready cut ziti pasta. When assembling I mixed all of the pasta with the meat sauce and poured into the pan, then topped with the cream sauce. I sprinkled the top with fresh ground nutmeg. This definately is worth the effort and everyone does love this dish! This is a family favorite and I will be making this often! Everyone should try this dish! Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
If your inexperienced in the kitchen, keep looking for a recipe to impress, this is a real toughie. At least I thought so. It was absolutely excellent though. Oh and don't make this on a weeknight, it took me quite a while. But don't worry this is totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This was a really good recipe. My red wine was a little too strong and overpowered the meal, I will try mixing in 1/2 water the next time. The meat sauce tasted so good by itself that I will use that as a base for pasta sauce, or even in sheperd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I used penne pasta. This recipe took a lot of effort, maybe because it was my first time making it. It tasted pretty good, but I probably own't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
This dish is worth the time and effort. I found it to be flavorful and filling. My family enjoyed it, although my 6 yr old was a little "iffy" towards it. It's quite time consuming, but I wanted to make something different for dinner. I will probably make this again, but it will be a while before I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
A huge hit at our recent "Greek Fest" dinner. The kids also love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Took this to a potluck supper and it was an amazing hit! Doubled parm and covered top with parm before baking making a golden brown crust.Also used a whole small can of tomato paste instead of 1/4 cup in sauce. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
yuck. made this to the T and found it to have very little flavor and just did not excite me or my family. did not like the topping- something about it just did not sit well with me. I couldn't even get my daughter to put it in her mouth. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
The best pastitsio recipe I have found...even my boyfriend's greek family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States