Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was really good. I'm giving it 4 stars for a couple of reasons. One, this is a pretty time consuming receipe. Also, I used a lot of pots! My family liked it, but said it was a little plain. They put Frank's Hot sauce on it and they gobbled it down. I will make again, but not one you want to make if you are running short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I recently went to a greek food festival and ate Pastitsio and fell in love. I did several recipe seasrches and choose this one because it had great reviews. This dish was much easier to make than anticipated. I only lacked one ingredient, Red wine, so i supstituted with white cooking wine. it turned out great, however I will be purchasing red wine to make this next time. One of the best casserole-type dishes i have ever made. This one will definatly be saved and passed onto friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My husband loved it. So did my son, who is finicky. I've never made this,so I compared recipes and actually had to combine this with the Pastitsio IV recipe. The only thing I actually measured was the formula for the bechemal. Everything else I just did to taste. I actually added the nutmeg, some cinnamon, and a dash of all spice. Instead of red wine, since I had none, i found some red wine vinegar in the pantry threw in a dash of that. For tomato paste I had some Ragu, and in place of vegetable stock I used chicken stock. I added fresh plum tomatoes instead of the canned in the other recipe. Had no parsley, but upped the oregano from the other recipe. I used alot more parm then this recipe called for. And there was a flaw in how many egga to use, since you tell us to use eggs twice but in the recipe you only told us to have three eggs. So when you called for the eggs the first time, I put all three in. But, this recipe was the base for what I did, between the two recipes, it came out great. You have to put the bechamel on the bottom portion too like one of the other reviewers stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I made this recipe using ground lamb instead of beef and added 1/2 tsp of allspice and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. The rest of the ingredients were exactly as printed. My family throughly enjoyed this meal, even my son-in-law who is not fond of casseroles let alone lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was good. The positives were that I had all the ingredients on hand; although it was time consuming to make, but not difficult at all; and it fed a crowd. I received compliments, but not the raves I was hoping for. I liked it, but wasn't blown away. My husband said it was good, but not to bother making it again. Considering how decadent & fattening this recipe is, it would have had to be amazingly delicious for me to justify wanting to make it again. I was seeking a recipe that for something "different" to do w/ ground beef. I did find what I was looking for in that respect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is a nice recipe, but you'll need a 1/2 cup of parmasean cheese instead of the 1/4 c listed (1/4 c for the ziti mixture and another 1/4 c on top). When assembling the dish, distribute 1/2 the cream sauce over the pasta on the bottom before adding the layer of meat sauce (then add the rest of the pasta and cover with the rest of the cream sauce). I find that at least a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon in the meat sauce gives the dish a more traditional flavor, although in reviews of other versions on this site suggest it is challenging to those having it for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
My three little girls will eat anything with noodles so I thought I'd try this for a change. Though it was not quick to prepare, it wasn't really difficult either. It went over great! They all loved it and even said "Yay!" to leftovers the next day (the real test of a recipe). I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly, not dry at all. Next time I might add the whole can of tomato paste for a different flavour and a little more seasoning in the white sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this dish. I didn't add the broth, added water instead. The other thing that I did different was that I put the noodles in the pan, added the butter, and cheese with the egg and mixed it up. I then added the beef mixture and topped that with the bechamel sauce. Just like my mother used to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This came out pretty good. It took quite some time to prepare. Although it was okay I doubt I will make it again. *update* This tasted so much better the next day, much more flavor. I think I will be making it again when I have the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is both of my kid's FAVORITE FOOD. They would rather eat this than go out to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States