Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I didn't have ground beef on hand, so I subbed in mild Italian sausage and used beef broth instead of vegetable broth for the meat sauce. I also topped this with 8oz of shredded mozzarella. My husband loved it-very flavorful and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I've never had this before, so I can't comment on its originality, but the cream sauce on top was not my favorite. I liked mixing it in with the meat sauce, but I won't put it on top again. Other than that I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I was impressed how much this tasted like pastitsio I've ordered at Greek restaurants - very authentic. It does take a long time, but it's worth it. And it smells fabulous! I did make a number of changes - Reduced the amount of Parmesan cheese and egg added to the pasta at the beginning (didn't miss it); Added cinnamon and nutmeg to the meat (highly suggest doing this); Increased the amount of garlic added to the meat (my MO for almost every recipe); Used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and used dry parsley instead of fresh (didn't notice either change); Added feta cheese to the cream sauce (I have no idea if this made a difference, just following a reviewer's suggestion). I also followed a reviewer's suggestion and tossed half the pasta with a little bit of the cream sauce and tossed the other half of the pasta with the meat sauce. Then first put the cream sauce-tossed pasta in the dish, then the meat sauce-tossed pasta, and finally the rest of the cream sauce. Came out great (seemed like a logical suggestion to me, thus why I followed it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steffanie Stamos
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Verry good! I mixed the meat and noodles together rather than layering them and added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the meet mixture. I also substituted olive oil for the first two sets of ingredients instead of butter to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffanie Stamos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was so good!!!!! My husband said he could eat it once a week. It was delicious!!! I used mini penne pasta and it worked fine. I also used ground lamb meat since it was all I had and it was a nice compliment to all the flavors. I am sure greeks would approve. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was as good as the restaurant version I have had and would give it 5 stars if I was more into greek food. Be prepared to put in a lot of time and coordination for good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
It was delicious, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Capizano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
3 eggs was too many to mix in with the pasta. I would guess that 2 would be enough. Overall, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was very good. I will be making this again for sure! I did however use a sweet merlot and thought it added a different flavor that my family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Good basic recipe...We would give this a 5 with these changes: Added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to meat mixture. I used a bit more tomato paste, and 1 tsp. salt. I am going to add a bit of tang next time also (lemon?). Also parmesan cheese (1/2 cup or more) mixed into sauce is crucial. Feta would be good in this too, somewhere! Whole wheat noodles were not so good in this; stick with regular =). Served with Greek salad topped with "Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing" (scaled to nine servings) on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

A meaty, creamy, pasta dish with mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States