Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was good, but not as good as pastisio I have had at greek restaurants. It needs A LOT of seasoning. I added extra garlic, oregano and some others and it still was not enough. For how fatty it is, it really should taste amazing. Also unless you have a family of 6 make sure to half this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Even my very picky brother and dad liked this dish! I would probably go with some of the peoples suggestions to mix in some the cream sauce with the bottom layer of past, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Oh boy, oh boy! This was fantastic. We followed the recipe exactly and were not disappointed. There are only two of us, so we ate this for two dinners and two lunches, and never got tired of it. It just kept getting better. Loved it! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Great recipe! My husband is Greek and we have a favorite restaurant that makes the best pastitsio and this about as close as I can find! Only change that I made was to change the nutmeg to cinnamon. The authentic dish calls for cinnamon, that's one of the signature tastes, so I just subbed in cinnamon for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good recipe. However, if you're not a fan of nutmeg it would be a good idea to omit it altogether. I will make this again minus that particular seasoning. I did however add fresh oregano (dried is fine too) to my meat and it really enhanced the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yankee Redneck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
After all of the rave reviews I was expecting something awesome. I was a little disappointed that after all of the hard work it was a little bit boring. I had never had it before though, so maybe my expectations were out of whack. It was good. It just didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I think the cinnamon is key to the authenticity of this dish, which is the only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars. I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the meat mixture, and a sprinkle in the cream sauce. But the dish itself is easy, even though it's time-consuming, and everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again - it will be great for feeding large crowds. I did make the following changes, strictly out of necessity: I used skim milk, and light margarine instead of butter; I didn't have wine or paste so I for the paste + wine + broth, I used tomato sauce with vegetable boullion mixed in. I expect wine would be better but the dish was great even with my forced modifications. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
So good I had it for breakfast too. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Imp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious! But you didn't say what to do with the 2 TBSP of olive oil in the recipe. I just added it to the sauce for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Like the previous review stated, this recipe is only missing cinnamon. My husband is Greek so I made this for him and with the cinnamon added it was a huge hit. We both LOVED it. It gave us leftovers for the rest of the week too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srkosturos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States