Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I think the cinnamon is key to the authenticity of this dish, which is the only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars. I added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the meat mixture, and a sprinkle in the cream sauce. But the dish itself is easy, even though it's time-consuming, and everyone enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again - it will be great for feeding large crowds. I did make the following changes, strictly out of necessity: I used skim milk, and light margarine instead of butter; I didn't have wine or paste so I for the paste + wine + broth, I used tomato sauce with vegetable boullion mixed in. I expect wine would be better but the dish was great even with my forced modifications. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
So good I had it for breakfast too. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Imp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious! But you didn't say what to do with the 2 TBSP of olive oil in the recipe. I just added it to the sauce for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Like the previous review stated, this recipe is only missing cinnamon. My husband is Greek so I made this for him and with the cinnamon added it was a huge hit. We both LOVED it. It gave us leftovers for the rest of the week too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srkosturos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Excellent recipe of Pastitsio, I as many other viewers added cinnamon just not the same without it. I also used a Merlot as I didn't have a dry red wine and it still turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Excellent meal, could eat this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stephentown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
A good recipe... will definately make this again. We are following a low sodium diet, so I reduced the sodium in the following way... used unsalted butter, didn't add ANY salt (used Mrs. Dash table blend), and instead of a pre-made vegetable broth I used sodium free bouillion, water, and more Mrs. Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is delicious. A little time consuming, but well worth it when cooking for company since so much of it can be prepared at a time. It also keeps well and makes a lovely lunch for me to bring to work the next day. My Dad ate thirds and fourths the last time I made this. It is now one of my most impressive meals served with Greek Salad and Baklava as dessert. A good winter time meal, and cheaper than moasaka since you need to buy eggplant, and I can't always find eggplant at my grocery store. This is def. a recipe I have made more than once. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was very tasty. Reminded me of mousaka without the eggplant. Next time I would like to drape it with aluminum foil while cooking because some of the ziti got dry and hard. Other than that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was an excellent alternative to my own baked ziti recipe. I added quite a bit of cinnamon to the meat sauce, taking a hint from other reviews, and it had the most unique flavor. When hubby says "you've gotta make this again", it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrownlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Barilla® Gluten Free Pasta Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Barilla® Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States