Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I had Pastitso at a restaurant and just had to come home and make some. I did notice, the restaurant version only had the pasta on the bottom. I followed this recipe exactly. Next time I will make more bachemel and put all of the pasta on the bottom. I found that the pasta on top, soaked up much of the bachemel. Not really what I was looking for, though still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Lovely! My husband and I loved it. I roasted the vegetables. I thought this was a bit light on the eggplant and zucchini, so I'll add more the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Fantastic - my wife said it was better than the pastitsio in Tarpon Springs, FL and the local place just across the river, both of which are authentically Greek!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Overall, quite tasty, but there are some alterations I would make to this recipe in the future. I found the dish to be lacking the nutmeg flavor, and using freshly grated nutmeg makes quite the difference. Additionally, the meat sauce was lacking in flavor and was more liquid-y than I was expecting. In the future, I would add additional tomato paste. Freshly grated pepper at the end is a good addition as well as freshly grated nutmeg, as cooking decreases the intensity of the spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I gave it 4 because I changed it up a bit. It was sooo delish. Here is what I changed. For the pasta: I did not add the olive oil and added a little cinnamon. For the beef: I used a combo of pork, veal and beef. I used less union added some cinnamon and used a large can of crushed tomatoes (with garlic, basil) instead of the broth. I used white wine instead of white and omitted the parsley and used Italian seasoning. I put 2 Bay leaves in and let is simmer for about an hour. For the Bechamel sauce: I added a dash or so of cinnamon. To assemble I put the pasta on the bottom, then some Bechamel sauce; then the meat sauce, then the other half of pasta and then the Bechamel sauce. It was sooooo good! I used a deep dish so it was nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Good, but not exactly what i was going for... from looking at other recipes on this site, i think a pastitsio III is it (minus the chile powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Really good and different! Added cinnamon and allspice to meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Delicious! OK mine probably wasn't authentic. The recipe is very forgiving in case you don't have some ingredients or make changes. I didn't have wine around so skipped that, and added cheddar to the bechamel to make it mornay sauce. Yummmm. It tasted even better the next day as reheated leftovers, if you can believe that! Also, this would be a good recipe to add 'hidden veg' ala Anabel Karmel (add to the meat sauce). Enjoy, this is a keeper! (PS you probalby don't need the butter called for in the meat sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmkay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this without adding any meat since I occasionally like to serve a meatless meal and my husband really enjoyed it. I didn't have any ziti pasta on hand so used spiral noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Loved the bechamel portion. Only rated it a 4 because it really does need cinnamon. I added some, but not quite enough to get that flavor. Also recommend selecting a good fully bodied wine. Good instructions and although time intensive, its easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States