Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was really good! I had to make some changes but it still turned out well! I didn't use as much onion (husband not a fan), no red wine, & water instead of vegie broth (didn't have it on hand). The noodles, however, were a little too hard & chewey on the top. Not sure what could be done since I think it is just due to them being in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this per the directions and other suggestions of adding the 1/2 cup of parmesan on the top and the only problem was the "salt to taste" part. I tried to be somewhat sparing and as a result we had to add salt to it when eating. Also, the restaurant where we have had it puts a tomato sauce over it and as soon as we took a bite we realized that without that it was just okay - nothing great on its own (somewhat bland). But, with the addition of some decent tomato (spaghetti) sauce w/basil and some salt this is very tasty. Next time I'll add more salt and garlic and remember the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Not sure I knew waht to expect with this, but my hubby and I were not that big of a fan, dont think I'll be making it again. It was okay, just not our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemywine
Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
OMG! This was awesome! I followed the recipe EXACTLY except adding a dash of nutmeg to the beef while it cooked as well, and I didn't add veggie broth becasue I didn't have any, but it didn't need it. And I used 1/2 n 1/2 becasue I was out of milk. This was exactly what I was looking for. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prithy3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is a great pastitsio recipe. My only beef with it was that there is a lot of liquid in it that bubbled over into my stove, burning onto my oven. I'll use a bigger pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was better than the Greek Pastitsio that we had at our local Greek Church 2 weeks ago. My kids liked theirs so much, they asked me to find a recipe online and make it at home. I had all the ingredients called for (except I didn't have quite enough red wine, so I used what I did have, and dumped some burgandy cooking wine in as well) I will DEFINATELY make this one over and over. Rumor has it that his is actually better the second day - you make it and cook it, let it cool, leave it in the fridge, then the next day - heat it in the oven. I'd try that - if there were any left ! Next time I'll make a double batch, and try freezing one batch. Definately a hit recipe here !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I wanted a meatless meal, so I subbed a pound of mushrooms for the ground beef- and it was FABULOUS! We will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Mally
Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is an OUTSTANDING recipe! I rated it 4 stars because for my family of picky eaters who like pasta or casserole-style dishes extremely flavorful and cheesy, I slightly increased all of the seasonings by 1/2 and the parsley by 1 TB, added 1 tsp. of cinnamon & a 1/2 tsp. of allspice to the meat mixture and increased the cheese by placing 1 cup of parmesean in the ziti mixture & about 1/2 cup in the middle on top of the meat layer. I also substituted beef stock for the veggie stock because that is what I had on hand. However, I followed the rest as written and turned out PERFECTLY. The dish was golden in about 40-45 minutes at 350 and my husband can't stop raving about it! He is requesting it for the Super Bowl! Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I know that every greek thinks their family makes the best pastitsio or moussaka or sponakopita (or insert recipe title here) but I was not thrilled by this one at all. This recipe is tasty but not authentic at all. Itis less of a pastitsio and more of a lazy lasagna. Any pastitsio that does not call for cinnamon is usually a bit off. As I said, it is a yummy dish more or less but I believe misses the flavors of an authentic pastitsio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyssakitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My husband is Greek and one day he asked me to make it. I found your recipe, followed it exactly, and he loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States