Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was a lot of effort and came out rather dry and unflavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was AWESOME!! I have tried a few different recipes but this one is the best!! I made it as is except I used cinnamon instead of the nutmeg and extra parmesan. My husband who is Greek, says this recipe was a 12!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it exactly as posted and wouldn't change a thing. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Not bad. I have been making a slightly different, slimmed down version of this for years. The only differencse between what I make and this are that a) I use no egg in my white sauce (so it's not really a "true" bechamel), b) I sub Romano for Parm (it has a much sharper flavor, so I can use less of it), c) mostaccioli noodles instead of ziti (and I use no egg or cheese to bind my pasta & d) I make an entirely different meat sauce. While I enjoyed this, my version is a tad better, MUCH healthier and takes less time to prepare. Because I wanted to try "authentic" pastitio, I only made a few changes. For one, I halved this (I was only feeding my hubs and I). Other than not adding an egg to my bechamel sauce, my only significant deviation was how I prepared my meat sauce. I didn't follow this recipe at all and instead used the one I've always relied on. I brown a medium onion and a lb. of EXTRA lean ground beef, drain and then add a small can of NO SALT ADDED tomato sauce, a touch ea. of cinnamon, nutmeg, oregano & s&p and fresh chopped garlic to that. I cut out a lot of fat & calories by doing this and STILL enjoy a rich, indulgent dish. Served w/ green beans, garlic bread & rice pudding for dessert. When the craving strikes, I'll stick with what works best and splurge elsewhere. Thanks anyways, ALKHATIB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good, but not like the one I'd enjoyed in a Greek home for 4 years. Made as directed, adding some cinnamon (authentic!) and leaving off the Parm at the end because I didn't have enough. I also used macaroni as that is what i had on hand, but of course ziti is the real way to go. The one I've had has slightly less tomato-y-ness to it and the cinnamon is more prominent (I don't think that version has nutmeg though), as well as the cream-y layer is twice as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner at the request of my daughter. My kids are half Greek and both love Greek food made by their late YiaYia. I have taken up the traditon but I am not Greek so I am happy when my food passes the "YiaYia" test. Everyone loved this. A very yummy, filling and economical dish. Served it with Greek salad and crispy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
It's pretty good! I did add a touch of cinnamon to the meat sauce, and I think another time might mix the pasta with the sauce instead of layering (the pasta on the bottom got a bit crunchy). It's crazy filling - our crew of seven ate half the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
One of our favorites. We make this often in fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband and oldest daughter, who both HATE casseroles, love this dish! It is a bit of work but it's worth the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was really good! I had to make some changes but it still turned out well! I didn't use as much onion (husband not a fan), no red wine, & water instead of vegie broth (didn't have it on hand). The noodles, however, were a little too hard & chewey on the top. Not sure what could be done since I think it is just due to them being in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States