Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
it's just all right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was a lot of effort and came out rather dry and unflavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was AWESOME!! I have tried a few different recipes but this one is the best!! I made it as is except I used cinnamon instead of the nutmeg and extra parmesan. My husband who is Greek, says this recipe was a 12!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it exactly as posted and wouldn't change a thing. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Not bad. I have been making a slightly different, slimmed down version of this for years. The only differencse between what I make and this are that a) I use no egg in my white sauce (so it's not really a "true" bechamel), b) I sub Romano for Parm (it has a much sharper flavor, so I can use less of it), c) mostaccioli noodles instead of ziti (and I use no egg or cheese to bind my pasta & d) I make an entirely different meat sauce. While I enjoyed this, my version is a tad better, MUCH healthier and takes less time to prepare. Because I wanted to try "authentic" pastitio, I only made a few changes. For one, I halved this (I was only feeding my hubs and I). Other than not adding an egg to my bechamel sauce, my only significant deviation was how I prepared my meat sauce. I didn't follow this recipe at all and instead used the one I've always relied on. I brown a medium onion and a lb. of EXTRA lean ground beef, drain and then add a small can of NO SALT ADDED tomato sauce, a touch ea. of cinnamon, nutmeg, oregano & s&p and fresh chopped garlic to that. I cut out a lot of fat & calories by doing this and STILL enjoy a rich, indulgent dish. Served w/ green beans, garlic bread & rice pudding for dessert. When the craving strikes, I'll stick with what works best and splurge elsewhere. Thanks anyways, ALKHATIB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good, but not like the one I'd enjoyed in a Greek home for 4 years. Made as directed, adding some cinnamon (authentic!) and leaving off the Parm at the end because I didn't have enough. I also used macaroni as that is what i had on hand, but of course ziti is the real way to go. The one I've had has slightly less tomato-y-ness to it and the cinnamon is more prominent (I don't think that version has nutmeg though), as well as the cream-y layer is twice as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner at the request of my daughter. My kids are half Greek and both love Greek food made by their late YiaYia. I have taken up the traditon but I am not Greek so I am happy when my food passes the "YiaYia" test. Everyone loved this. A very yummy, filling and economical dish. Served it with Greek salad and crispy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
It's pretty good! I did add a touch of cinnamon to the meat sauce, and I think another time might mix the pasta with the sauce instead of layering (the pasta on the bottom got a bit crunchy). It's crazy filling - our crew of seven ate half the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
One of our favorites. We make this often in fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband and oldest daughter, who both HATE casseroles, love this dish! It is a bit of work but it's worth the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States