Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was delicious! My best friend from high school is Greek, and this reminds me of her mother's Pastitio. I followed the recipe almost exactly, although I used macaroni instead of ziti. I also ended up accidentally adding more nutmeg to the noodles and I was worried it would be too much, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Made this dish for lunch today... I did have to add more milk to the cream sauce because it was too thick but this dish was delicious! I also didn't have shredded parmesan cheese so I used the parmesan powder and it was still very good. I layered it like someone had suggested with cream sauce on the bottom layer of noodles, then meat sauce, another layer of noodles and topped with cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Followed the recipe but used Quorn veggie crumbles instead of ground beef. Boom. Vegetarian friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Delicious .. Grandkids want it for Christmas so now I have something to do .! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
it was okay ..my mother-in-law is Greek so made it for my husband and no it didn't come close to my mother-in-laws recipe ..husband and kids said we like grandmas better =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe! Definitely worth the time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I have used this recipe dozens of times. Every time I make it - an enormous success. You do not have to be Greek to love it. It does take some time to make, so I always try to do it on a weekend when I have lots of time and don't feel rushed. The recipe ingredients call for 2T of olive oil, but it's not included in the directions. I am guessing it is intended for adding to the boiling pasta water. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good but needed more seasoning and spice. Will try it again but spruce it up some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This got mixed reviews at our house. I didn't want to waste half the can of tomato paste, so I used it all, and I'm glad I did. I think it needed either even more nutmeg or I've used another recipe that also had cinnamon. My boyfriend also asked that I add red pepper flakes to the meet when cooking next time. I also used macaroni, but that was personal preference. I also didn't read the other reviews before cooking, so I wasn't sure about the additional cheese to sprinkle on top, so I just added some parm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustysMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I used Tinkyada gluten free pasta, and subbed oat flour for the all purpose flour. Delicious (and gluten free!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny Cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States