Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good but needed more seasoning and spice. Will try it again but spruce it up some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This got mixed reviews at our house. I didn't want to waste half the can of tomato paste, so I used it all, and I'm glad I did. I think it needed either even more nutmeg or I've used another recipe that also had cinnamon. My boyfriend also asked that I add red pepper flakes to the meet when cooking next time. I also used macaroni, but that was personal preference. I also didn't read the other reviews before cooking, so I wasn't sure about the additional cheese to sprinkle on top, so I just added some parm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustysMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I used Tinkyada gluten free pasta, and subbed oat flour for the all purpose flour. Delicious (and gluten free!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny Cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
it's just all right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was a lot of effort and came out rather dry and unflavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was AWESOME!! I have tried a few different recipes but this one is the best!! I made it as is except I used cinnamon instead of the nutmeg and extra parmesan. My husband who is Greek, says this recipe was a 12!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was wonderful! I made it exactly as posted and wouldn't change a thing. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Not bad. I have been making a slightly different, slimmed down version of this for years. The only differencse between what I make and this are that a) I use no egg in my white sauce (so it's not really a "true" bechamel), b) I sub Romano for Parm (it has a much sharper flavor, so I can use less of it), c) mostaccioli noodles instead of ziti (and I use no egg or cheese to bind my pasta & d) I make an entirely different meat sauce. While I enjoyed this, my version is a tad better, MUCH healthier and takes less time to prepare. Because I wanted to try "authentic" pastitio, I only made a few changes. For one, I halved this (I was only feeding my hubs and I). Other than not adding an egg to my bechamel sauce, my only significant deviation was how I prepared my meat sauce. I didn't follow this recipe at all and instead used the one I've always relied on. I brown a medium onion and a lb. of EXTRA lean ground beef, drain and then add a small can of NO SALT ADDED tomato sauce, a touch ea. of cinnamon, nutmeg, oregano & s&p and fresh chopped garlic to that. I cut out a lot of fat & calories by doing this and STILL enjoy a rich, indulgent dish. Served w/ green beans, garlic bread & rice pudding for dessert. When the craving strikes, I'll stick with what works best and splurge elsewhere. Thanks anyways, ALKHATIB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good, but not like the one I'd enjoyed in a Greek home for 4 years. Made as directed, adding some cinnamon (authentic!) and leaving off the Parm at the end because I didn't have enough. I also used macaroni as that is what i had on hand, but of course ziti is the real way to go. The one I've had has slightly less tomato-y-ness to it and the cinnamon is more prominent (I don't think that version has nutmeg though), as well as the cream-y layer is twice as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve dinner at the request of my daughter. My kids are half Greek and both love Greek food made by their late YiaYia. I have taken up the traditon but I am not Greek so I am happy when my food passes the "YiaYia" test. Everyone loved this. A very yummy, filling and economical dish. Served it with Greek salad and crispy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States