Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I have tried several pastitsio recipes, this is by far the best and most authentic. Its not difficult to make and its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loudonville, New York, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
My Greek in-laws loved this one. my dear Hubby even said it was 'slap your yia-yia good!'. Definatly make more sauce. Otherwise looks as though I am the Keeper of Pistitsio!! Remember, Food is Love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
The flavor of this recipe is perfect and absolutely worth the effort! My kids even gobbled it up and labeled it "yum." Next time I will thicken the beschamel only a bit (or add a little more milk), as I think the final pasticcio cooked up a bit dry this time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This is an authentic and wonderful recipe, and I have been making it for years. It is out of Tess Mallos’s The Complete Middle Eastern Cookbook. A really wonderful Middle Eastern Cookbook. At the end of this recipe in the last part of the instructions she has, “Sprinkle remaining cheese on top” but she left the amount out. It is 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I thought this dish was only OK. I halved the recipe and added a touch of cinnamon; otherwise I followed the recipe precisely. The dish was a little dry, and some of the pasta poked through the sauce and turned out chewy. In fairness I should say I may be biased since I have a great memory of this dish from my childhood. This dish didn't taste close, but I'm not sure what it's missing. If I were to do it over, I would reduce the nutmeg slightly and add 1/2 cup more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This was good pastitsio. My husband loved it, but neither of my kids would touch it. I didnt really expect that they would though. Nothing wrong with this recipe, other than I added cinnamon to my meat.. and im not entirely sure about the taste of wine in the sauce. Im still looking for my perfect pastitsio recipe. Thanks Catherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Fed this to a bunch of friends and they loved it, too. One whose mom is Greek asked that I add a bit more nutmeg and cinnamon. He pronounced it "perfect and authentic"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I found this recipe to be a good starting place and customized it to my taste: doubled the tomato sauce, halved the custard, increased the nutmeg and omitted the oil/butter on the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
The best pastitsio recipe I have found...even my boyfriend's greek family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
yuck. made this to the T and found it to have very little flavor and just did not excite me or my family. did not like the topping- something about it just did not sit well with me. I couldn't even get my daughter to put it in her mouth. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States