Pastitsio II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Do not kid yourself--this is not an easy weeknight meal, and that 2 1/2 hour estimate is if only if you are a stellar multitasker with three burners going at once. That said, it is so, so worth it. Seriously the only pastitsio recipe I have made that tastes authentic. It's a perfect cold weather casserole, impressive enough to serve company with a salad (Greek, of course!). It actually tastes even better reheated, after the flavors have a chance to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jspierick
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
We used 1 pound of meat, penne noodles and whole wheat flour, extra garlic (as in all of my dishes) and omitted the veggie broth/wine in lieu of 1 cup of beef broth. These changes were made based on what was on hand. We also added cinnamon to the meat. Following another reviewer, we layered noodles, meat, cheese times 2. To say this was good doesn't begin to describe the dish. Truly fantastic, my husband ate so much he got a migraine (won't use the parm. Cheese next time). 9 year old had seconds. 12 month old ate it. I enjoyed leftovers for lunches. Will make again and again. Also, not as much work as some post as long as your organized going into it (have your items in dishes sectioned out)! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe worked great! I've been obsessing over this dish since I first had it a few weeks ago. I definitely worked up a sweat making it but it was worth it. I wish I had kasseri cheese handy but the Parmesan worked well. So happy I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Lacked flavour. Penne ziti noodles too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Just ok. Lacked flavor, and the béchamel sauce I found to be too flour-y. Definitely have made better pastitsio in the past with other recipes. Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Simply awesome! Just like the one I had in a restaurant. I made it exactly as described (except used cloves instead of nutmeg for an allergy). Amazing! Must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
It was a lot of work for "okay" flavor. Made exactly as written....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
For the amount of fat and calories that are in this recipe, we found it to be quite bland. If I'm going to eat comfort food I want to really enjoy it, this just left me saying "eh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was delicious! My best friend from high school is Greek, and this reminds me of her mother's Pastitio. I followed the recipe almost exactly, although I used macaroni instead of ziti. I also ended up accidentally adding more nutmeg to the noodles and I was worried it would be too much, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Made this dish for lunch today... I did have to add more milk to the cream sauce because it was too thick but this dish was delicious! I also didn't have shredded parmesan cheese so I used the parmesan powder and it was still very good. I layered it like someone had suggested with cream sauce on the bottom layer of noodles, then meat sauce, another layer of noodles and topped with cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States