Pastitsio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Loved it and so did my kids! Next time I make it though I'll leave the foil on a bit longer bc the noodles on the very top got a bit too crunchy. Also replaced the allspice with just an extra sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe is complicated but is worth it. I had to reduce the servings which made my measurements and serving portion smaller than I thought. Baking at 400 degrees was also too high and my finished dish was dry and the pasta became too hard to eat on the outside edges. Next time I will only bake at 350 degrees and keep to the original portion size. The flavors were spot on so I will be making this dish again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is just another family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We all loved it! Easy enough to prepare ahead of time too. Satisfied my Greek tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was very good - but I am still searching for the perfect (IMHO) Pastitsio. My husband and the adult step-son raved about it, but my finicky taste buds still compare it to the first and best Pastitio I ever tasted, in a popular local Greek restaurant - it was made with hamburger also. I suspect they probably catered somewhat to American tastes, so my frame of reference is most likely a little skewed. However, I think I trust others taste buds a bit more than my own, and this has never failed to please. Thanks for submitting the recipe, Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I thought this was great, but I only made half the recipe since it's way too much for two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have made this recipe for years and it is a winner. It takes a few bowls and pans but this can be cleaned up during the baking - and it's well worth it! As the kids were growing up, they had this recipe right up there with pizza as their favorite. I never knew the real name but called it Greek Macaroni Bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made this for a Greek Party we had and even the couple that was Greek thought it tasted as good as her mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Good stuff. I quartered the recipe for the wife and I, added some spinach and baked in a square pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States