Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was my first time working and tasting rutabaga. I have to say the thing was HORRIBLE to cut up. I nearly asked my husband to take an axe to it! After cooking the rutabaga were very tough and unsatisfying. Other than that this recipe was very yummy! I used beef tips and they cooked up very tender along with the potatoes, carrots and onions. I did have a lot of filling left over, but I just cooked it along with the pasties in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newlywed Lacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Just like the pasties we made at church for fundraisers as a kid. I always use ground beef, and I like to season the meat as it cooks...I throw in some salt/garlic/pepper/and whatever else sounds good. Sometimes I use Famous Daves Steak and Hamburger seasoning mix. I also like to make sure the crust is super thin (a little healthier I suppose. So I doubled the crust recipe and made a triple filling recipe and there was just a little leftover crust! You can't mix the filling wrong, so just add veggies until you feel the ratios are right! After they've cooled, wrap them in tinfoil and put them in your freezer...they're great to heat up when you don't want to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These turned out pretty good, and were surprisingly easy to make. Except for cutting up the rutabaga--there's got to be a trick that makes it easier! If I make them again, I think I'll add a little more spice and butter, but overall they taste great. I now have several in the freezer for when I get a pasty craving, I won't have to find someone to drive to the UP for me to get a fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe, and what's more, if you decide you don't like this particular filling, you can fill it with just about anything you can imagine. I filled some with leftover beef stew and they were heavenly. I even filled them with some leftover pecan pie filling and they were MARVELOUS (though one of them did rupture...) So much fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so simple and tasty. I used ground beef instead of stew meat because thats what I had on hand. I just browned the meat and drained it before adding it to the mix and it was delicious. My husband loves these with brown gravy, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe.. so easy too. Only changes I made were to the pastry. I added a few tablespoons of garlic & pepper to the dough. It made the outside blend with the inside flavor much better. Also, I used another users idea & sprinkled gravy mix onto the filling.. MMmmm!!! I will be doing this again, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I was born in the U.P of Michigan so a true "Yooper". I grew up eating pasty and this is just how I remember it. Only thing I do differently is use combo of ground beef and pork. You can buy meatloaf mix in meat dept. that works perfectly. Usually I just make large pan of this instead of individual (less work!) and of course you MUST eat with ketchup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
thank you! No one for the longest time ever heard of them here in Maine, and roadside pasties are an unforgettable treat for anyone who ventures into the UP. This recipe has already been saved in my favorites (and I haven't tried it yet) just reading the recipe brought me right back. This is what I am doing our first chilly day here. (it's coming... )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
very good! I love these, as does my husband. Make them according to the recipe and you can't go wrong. They turn out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I've made this several times now and everyone loves it! I'm from the UP also and it's the real thing. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daggett, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States