Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are great! I use 1/3 cup less flour, 1/2 tsp less salt for the dough. I usually throw in whatever is on hand: potatoes, carrots, onion, garlic cloves, and hamburger. I liked the suggestion that used gravy mix. My mom grew up in Upper Michigan and brought this recipe with her to our Norwegian family. My husband really loves these! I like to dip mine in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These were VERY good - the pastry was perfectly flaky, with a nice touch of salt. I didn't add carrots or rutabaga, but I didn't miss them. (I prefer to eat my veggies on the side.) Since my meat was still a little frozen when I cut it anyway, I threw it in a zip top bag with a red wine marinade and let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours before I assembled the pasties. The meat turned out nice and tender, and pretty flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were so tasty. My best friend's family always made these so I have had my fair share of pasties. The one thing that I changed, the second time that I made them, was that instead of salt and pepper I used season salt. It sounds like a small thing, but it makes a big difference in the flavoring. (My friend's family always used season salt.)This reminded of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Never heard of a pastie before stumbling across your recipe. They were very good, although hubby didn't like the rutabega. Next time we'll make it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was my first time working and tasting rutabaga. I have to say the thing was HORRIBLE to cut up. I nearly asked my husband to take an axe to it! After cooking the rutabaga were very tough and unsatisfying. Other than that this recipe was very yummy! I used beef tips and they cooked up very tender along with the potatoes, carrots and onions. I did have a lot of filling left over, but I just cooked it along with the pasties in a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newlywed Lacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Just like the pasties we made at church for fundraisers as a kid. I always use ground beef, and I like to season the meat as it cooks...I throw in some salt/garlic/pepper/and whatever else sounds good. Sometimes I use Famous Daves Steak and Hamburger seasoning mix. I also like to make sure the crust is super thin (a little healthier I suppose. So I doubled the crust recipe and made a triple filling recipe and there was just a little leftover crust! You can't mix the filling wrong, so just add veggies until you feel the ratios are right! After they've cooled, wrap them in tinfoil and put them in your freezer...they're great to heat up when you don't want to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These turned out pretty good, and were surprisingly easy to make. Except for cutting up the rutabaga--there's got to be a trick that makes it easier! If I make them again, I think I'll add a little more spice and butter, but overall they taste great. I now have several in the freezer for when I get a pasty craving, I won't have to find someone to drive to the UP for me to get a fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe, and what's more, if you decide you don't like this particular filling, you can fill it with just about anything you can imagine. I filled some with leftover beef stew and they were heavenly. I even filled them with some leftover pecan pie filling and they were MARVELOUS (though one of them did rupture...) So much fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so simple and tasty. I used ground beef instead of stew meat because thats what I had on hand. I just browned the meat and drained it before adding it to the mix and it was delicious. My husband loves these with brown gravy, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe.. so easy too. Only changes I made were to the pastry. I added a few tablespoons of garlic & pepper to the dough. It made the outside blend with the inside flavor much better. Also, I used another users idea & sprinkled gravy mix onto the filling.. MMmmm!!! I will be doing this again, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States