Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great recipe! Hubby and I made several and froze some for later! They were great. We did not change one thing to this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Great treat from Michigan. Excellent recipe. Reminds me of Summers on Lake Superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I hadn't had a pasty in YEARS and these tasted just how I remembered them, only BETTER!!! They are a bit of work, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I'm originally from England and never knew that these were popular in Michigan. The way my parents always made these was to use leftover beef stew for the filling..cuts down on prep time and is a nice way to use up leftover stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Good...but we still doused them with BBQ sauce to eat. They came out a little dry and lack-luster. Maybe next time add mushrooms or some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I love the dough for this, it comes out perfect every time! I never even knew what pasties were until my husband and I took a drive up the MN northshore and I saw a sign and was rather confused, he of course insisted we stop on the way back to try it (he grew up in northern MN). So the love started. This was very close to what we had then, I make a gravy to dunk it in, as is done in the Minnesota world of pasties. (blasphemous to some, I know)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjgoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I grew up eating pasties. My sister and I made this recipe for st. patty's day. It was the best we have ever had. We doubled the recipe and even had enough extra vegies and chicken to make into chicken and dumplings. Way good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this recipe for the 2nd time yesterday. They taste amazing, my family loves them! The only issue I had with the recipe was that there wasn't enough dough for all the filling. The 1st time i made a stew with the extra filling that turned out very tasty. This time I made an extra batch of pastry and it worked perfectly. These would do my Finnish Dad and Grandma proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are great! I use 1/3 cup less flour, 1/2 tsp less salt for the dough. I usually throw in whatever is on hand: potatoes, carrots, onion, garlic cloves, and hamburger. I liked the suggestion that used gravy mix. My mom grew up in Upper Michigan and brought this recipe with her to our Norwegian family. My husband really loves these! I like to dip mine in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These were VERY good - the pastry was perfectly flaky, with a nice touch of salt. I didn't add carrots or rutabaga, but I didn't miss them. (I prefer to eat my veggies on the side.) Since my meat was still a little frozen when I cut it anyway, I threw it in a zip top bag with a red wine marinade and let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours before I assembled the pasties. The meat turned out nice and tender, and pretty flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States