Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious. I am so glad I decided to make my own dough! I followed the recommendations of others and added a few shakes of worcestershire sauce to the veggies and beef. I also placed the veggies first, then the beef on top, so the juices from the beef went into the veggies. Finally the best suggestion was to use the wax paper you are rolling out the dough with to help fold the top of the pasty over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
The best thing on earth! I used butter flavored crisco. The crust was AMAZING. I did add a little bit of gravy powder to the filling for flavor. Definatly will make again. Alot easier than I was expecting too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great recipe! Hubby and I made several and froze some for later! They were great. We did not change one thing to this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Great treat from Michigan. Excellent recipe. Reminds me of Summers on Lake Superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I hadn't had a pasty in YEARS and these tasted just how I remembered them, only BETTER!!! They are a bit of work, but definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I'm originally from England and never knew that these were popular in Michigan. The way my parents always made these was to use leftover beef stew for the filling..cuts down on prep time and is a nice way to use up leftover stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Good...but we still doused them with BBQ sauce to eat. They came out a little dry and lack-luster. Maybe next time add mushrooms or some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I love the dough for this, it comes out perfect every time! I never even knew what pasties were until my husband and I took a drive up the MN northshore and I saw a sign and was rather confused, he of course insisted we stop on the way back to try it (he grew up in northern MN). So the love started. This was very close to what we had then, I make a gravy to dunk it in, as is done in the Minnesota world of pasties. (blasphemous to some, I know)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjgoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I grew up eating pasties. My sister and I made this recipe for st. patty's day. It was the best we have ever had. We doubled the recipe and even had enough extra vegies and chicken to make into chicken and dumplings. Way good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made this recipe for the 2nd time yesterday. They taste amazing, my family loves them! The only issue I had with the recipe was that there wasn't enough dough for all the filling. The 1st time i made a stew with the extra filling that turned out very tasty. This time I made an extra batch of pastry and it worked perfectly. These would do my Finnish Dad and Grandma proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States