Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was awesome, very close to being strait from da UP (yup I am a pseudo Yooper - NMU student for 4 years) In place of the steak, I used 1 pound of ground pork and a 1/2 pound of ground chuck as found in other pasty recipes (and well, my fridge.) It turned out very very tasty! I also brushed the tops with milk and they turned out beautiful. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as it appears and I didn't care for it. I am very good with dough so that turned out fine but the inside was bad. I would try this again using the other suggestions from other reviews. I think ground hamburger with some added seasoning might be the trick for me! I will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made my version of UP pasties with the leftover pepper steak I had made with sirloin steak, peppers, onions, celery, mushrooms, and potatoes. I added carrots when I decided to make the pasties. That is probably why it grew. I used Pampered Chef's new 4" biscuit cutter to form the circles but instead of folding them over I used a bottom and top crust filling the middle with stew mixture using Pampered Chef's medium scoop. Sounds like a great receipe for my next Pampered Chef party as my husband was not too keen on my latest creation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Hooray! I am so happy to have found this, Turned out amazing and took me back to childhood. My Grandma was from Hancock in the UP and we always went every year to visit her childhood home and the best part was of course eating PASTIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have never been to the UP and never tried a pasty, but I have seen Escanaba In Da Moonlight many times and decided to make these for deer camp. This recipe was good, but a little bland. Next time I will add some more salt to the crust and more spices to the mixture also, but they were still very good and were all eaten by the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good and very hearty, but also very bland....even when I tried to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Iron Mt. Michigan--We have the best recipe! NO to carrots NO pie crust NO gravy NO hamburger Yes, rutabaga Yes, butter in slit on top Yes, parsley Yes, ketchup when serving Yes, milk on top for browning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Disappointing over all. The dough was very easy to mix up and rolled out beautifully. I put the butter on top of the meat/veggies as instructed but they were dry and kind of bland. The meat was tender, veggies cooked perfect, crust a light brown so everything turned out except that they were dry. It's been ages since I've had a pastie from the UP but don't they have a little bit of some kind of gravy inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I am from Menominee, MI and this is truly an Upper Peninsula meal. I used this recipe more as a guideline because it was very similar to the way my mother and grandmother make them, however I used what I had on hand. I used a ground beef and ground pork mixture and omitted the rutabaga. Everything else was the same and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very easy to make & delish-tasted pretty much like a beef pot pie without the gravy. I DID add the rutabaga & carrots & all 6 of us liked it, including my not-so-adventurous boys. I had the perfect ratio of dough to filling too! Thank you-we'll be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States