Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good and very hearty, but also very bland....even when I tried to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Iron Mt. Michigan--We have the best recipe! NO to carrots NO pie crust NO gravy NO hamburger Yes, rutabaga Yes, butter in slit on top Yes, parsley Yes, ketchup when serving Yes, milk on top for browning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Disappointing over all. The dough was very easy to mix up and rolled out beautifully. I put the butter on top of the meat/veggies as instructed but they were dry and kind of bland. The meat was tender, veggies cooked perfect, crust a light brown so everything turned out except that they were dry. It's been ages since I've had a pastie from the UP but don't they have a little bit of some kind of gravy inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I am from Menominee, MI and this is truly an Upper Peninsula meal. I used this recipe more as a guideline because it was very similar to the way my mother and grandmother make them, however I used what I had on hand. I used a ground beef and ground pork mixture and omitted the rutabaga. Everything else was the same and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very easy to make & delish-tasted pretty much like a beef pot pie without the gravy. I DID add the rutabaga & carrots & all 6 of us liked it, including my not-so-adventurous boys. I had the perfect ratio of dough to filling too! Thank you-we'll be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My Grandparents immigrated from Finland to the U/P in MI and I grew up eating this style of Pastie. I put meat layer on top to flavor veg's underneath as they bake. I use stew meat (diced small) season it, mix with tblsp of worchester, 2 tblsps of pepperoncini juice, a tblsp of ketchup and let it sit overnight in fridge. I dice all veggies fairly small also. I sometimes use the pre-made pie dough as a shortcut (even got my Finnish Dad to use them) and it's "almost" as good but not authentic. I make my pasties a bit smaller for easier handling. I don't have an issue" w/adding minced carrots or more seasoning (although rutabega is a key component). It's the end results that matter. If you can find a small rutabega, it's easier to cut up. I add garlic & dried thyme/parsley to meat and veg layers for a little extra flavor and top it off w/butter bits. Don't "overfill" or your crust will tear. I make 3 slits on top and spoon small amounts of beef stock into the slits 10 - 15 minutes b4 pasties are done for added moisture. I always make extra: allow pasties to cool & freeze in individual foil wrapped portions. If your not familiar with Pasties, you may not like them. In MHO these should be eaten w/ketchup, not gravy. Hope of my thoughts helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I was born and raised in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, and these were a family staple! When I was 13, my parents moved us down here to Illinois, where the term "Pastie" illicits very strange looks from others. lol Since we moved, my family still can not live without these. Granted, you can buy them frozen and boxed now at Gordons Food Center, but they are SOOO much better homemade. Twice a year all the women in our family here get together to make pasties for our families. It is usually an all day event! Because these freeze so incredibly well, we make enough to stock all of our deep freezers for the next several months. Wrapped and stored individually, these meat pies are a great quick meal, whether reheated in the oven (preferred) or the microwave. Great served with extra melted butter on top and ketchup, though others in my family prefer a brown gravy instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe, and follows very closely the one brought over from Corwall by my great-great grandmother Rule. My ancestors were Cornish miners hired by a company to come mine gold during the California gold rush. It is interesting to me the debate over the traditional ingredients in the recipe, but the truth is each family had their own variation. My great grandmother used onions, potatoes, carrots, and turnips. My grandmother and great aunt preferred only onions and potatoes. It can actually be customized to how you like it. I recommend brushing to tops of the pasties with milk about fifteen or twenty minutes before they are done to give them a golden brown color. Some people like ground beef or pork for the meat, but for me the round steak or sirloin has always been the best. Customize it however you wish, but enjoy a great Cornish tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
my husband and I loved these, first time ever having pasties...I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My mom asked me to print off this recipe for her, so that we could have these for dinner. She made the recipe exactly as stated and we LOVED them (and being from MI we know what we are doing when it comes to pastie consumption, lol). Her first batch came out a little dry, so she did glaze some milk over the dough for her 2nd and it came out much softer. The only complaint is that the amount of filling was WAY TOO MUCH compared to the amount of dough (almost double the filling needed). However, that just meant she had to make more pasties for us to eat, so it is not all that bad, haha. Thanks for sharing!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States