Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I added turnips, mushrooms, Beef stock paste (more beef flavor), baking powder for the filling (makes the dough flakier). An official Cornish pasty does not contain carrots but I added them in mine, and are included in many recipes of the times. Traditionally associated with coal and copper miners of Michigan and Minnesota. coal miners would carry them into the mines well wrapped for there lunch. They would have there initials on the pasties (like I have mine on this pasty) so they could tell who they belonged to. It is required that they are shaped like a "D", and they are crimped on the sides. need to add baking powder, turnips, mushrooms, extra beef flavor, and brush the dough with egg yoke to give it a nice brown look. see my picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent!! Just like the ones my husband and I have each time wn visit Michigan. Flakey crust, fabulous way to use up left over roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Do not make with venison. Maybe it was just my taste buds. Other than the meat it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Wow! These are perfect and exactly what I was looking for. My husband's grandmother (from the U.P.) made these twice a year for the family. My husband said these were "spot on"! I thought the crust was VERY easy to work with, and tasted perfect. I cut my meat smaller than stated though, I made sure to dice all of the ingredients to be about the same size. I omitted the carrots as well. I also had to roll out the dough a little larger than 6" (closer to an 8" circle) in order to fit the 1 cup of filling. Make sure you season these generously and they will be perfect. These were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
PERFECT!!!! I grew up on these and it was such a treat to have the taste recreated EXACTLY as I remembered it. I omit the rutabaga, as I am generally a fan but do not care for it in pasties. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was awesome, very close to being strait from da UP (yup I am a pseudo Yooper - NMU student for 4 years) In place of the steak, I used 1 pound of ground pork and a 1/2 pound of ground chuck as found in other pasty recipes (and well, my fridge.) It turned out very very tasty! I also brushed the tops with milk and they turned out beautiful. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as it appears and I didn't care for it. I am very good with dough so that turned out fine but the inside was bad. I would try this again using the other suggestions from other reviews. I think ground hamburger with some added seasoning might be the trick for me! I will give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made my version of UP pasties with the leftover pepper steak I had made with sirloin steak, peppers, onions, celery, mushrooms, and potatoes. I added carrots when I decided to make the pasties. That is probably why it grew. I used Pampered Chef's new 4" biscuit cutter to form the circles but instead of folding them over I used a bottom and top crust filling the middle with stew mixture using Pampered Chef's medium scoop. Sounds like a great receipe for my next Pampered Chef party as my husband was not too keen on my latest creation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Hooray! I am so happy to have found this, Turned out amazing and took me back to childhood. My Grandma was from Hancock in the UP and we always went every year to visit her childhood home and the best part was of course eating PASTIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have never been to the UP and never tried a pasty, but I have seen Escanaba In Da Moonlight many times and decided to make these for deer camp. This recipe was good, but a little bland. Next time I will add some more salt to the crust and more spices to the mixture also, but they were still very good and were all eaten by the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States