Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is how my UP family also makes Pasties, but I made a slight change to mine that I personally prefer. I "flash fry" my steak pieces first in a pan with about 1 TB of oil and a teaspoon or so of crushed garlic. Then I add it to my rutabaga/potato/onion mixture and bake. :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Little Suamico, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Made it with pre-made pie crust, and had to figure out what a rutabega looked like, but it was pretty tasty. I followed another reviewer's comment and added some brown gravy mix to the meat mixture. The carrots were also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Excellent and so filling! They reheated beautifully, and are really good with ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I made these Pasties yesterday; using butter instead of margerine; they turned out just like my dad taught my mother how to make. He was from the U.P. (Trap Rock); mom was from Panama. I made them for my son/siblings; they all said they were delicious! As kids we use to sit around the table on a Saturday morning and make Pasties with mom. Dad was in heaven...he was a Finn and he was happy mom would make them for him "us". Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, nice to carry on the tradition of my Finnish hereitage! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaRaised

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
PUT AN ICE CUBE IN BEFORE SEALING DOUGH. This recipe is almost like my mothers. She always took a whole day and made pasties for the freezer. She always put a single ice cube into the mix before sealing it up. They were never dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Used to work in Iron Mountain and had these at least every other day. These were just as good as I remember. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious!! Used a chuck steak, but I think it would be better with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melia Woelmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Excellent! This recipe was great and easy. I followed it exactly. The crust was flaky and perfect. I live in the U.P. and have tried many variations. Thanks for sharing! I find many 'Yoopers' think they have a "secret" family recipe and won't give it out. Ha! this one beat all of theirs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! The only change I make is to double the pastry ingredients because I put in some green beans and carrots for extra nutriton! Tastes just like the great pasties you can find here in Northern Michigan! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
very good classic pasty.... i even made mine using lard crust.... you can really put what ever you want inside ground meat or cubed meat and different veggies.... two things to be sure you do though is make sure they seal up good and be sure to add the slab of butter... if you don't they will dry out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States