Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Yum! I didn't have rutabega-but it was delish with steak, potato and carrots (garlic and parsley). I was worried about everything cooking by putting it in raw-it turned out amazing! I had left over filling too. Served with brown gravy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My family is from Cornwall. This recipe goes back several generations for me. Excellent in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times, the only regular changes the addition of carrot for a bit of color, butter for margarine, and an egg wash to make the crust pretty. Just like with steaks, if I've got a really good cut of meat, the simple seasoning here is fine. It's just when I've got an ordinary bit of meat that I need to up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. Tastes like home! Easy too. Made a bunch to freeze for a quick meal on a busy night. Leftover filling. Will use more filling per pastie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Ya, it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I haven't had pasties since I was a kid. Found a rutabaga and thought I would give it a try. The crust is nice and flakey. Just delicious!!! I didn't change anything. Made the recipe just as it was- (I did double it so I can freeze some and have them for work.) Coming from Michigan, this is something I just haven't found anywhere else in the country. I feel like I just ate a memory! Ummm...Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I just took them out of the oven and the juices all leaked out making the bottoms soggy. When I went to flip them over to try and cook the bottoms I found that they were stuck to the wax paper and all fell apart. Next time I will spray pam on the paper which the directions didn't say to do. I would love some advise on what else I maybe did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I really wanted to love this recipe. I made them almost like written with the exception of adding garlic and also a spoonful of beef gravy to each pastie before sealing. I am unsure given the ingredients; why they were so bland? Maybe the addition of mushrooms or other herbs would help? I think it's a good basic recipe that can be built upon. I will probably play around with this one to make it a bit more tasty. The crust was very nice and flaky and I thought easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is how my UP family also makes Pasties, but I made a slight change to mine that I personally prefer. I "flash fry" my steak pieces first in a pan with about 1 TB of oil and a teaspoon or so of crushed garlic. Then I add it to my rutabaga/potato/onion mixture and bake. :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Made it with pre-made pie crust, and had to figure out what a rutabega looked like, but it was pretty tasty. I followed another reviewer's comment and added some brown gravy mix to the meat mixture. The carrots were also a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States