Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
My GirlFriend got me hooked on these. I think they are pretty good and not too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very good and looks beautiful. I sprinkled the meat mixture with powdered gravy mix, added 2T of water and a generous dose of Worcestershre Sauce. A hit with the kids so it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I have had these for years, my Dad was from Northern Minnesota. We don't put the carrots in. Put a couple of slabs of butter on top of the filling before putting the pie dough over and cut a couple of slits in the pie dough also. You can also make these for breakfast with cooked sausage scrambled eggs and cheddar cheese WOW are they good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
These were great! I cut my meat up a little smaller, and I also added pork. The flavoring was terrific, but I would have liked them a little less dry. Maybe serving some gravy over them would be just right. I did have some extra filling, but just baked it in a dish alongside the pasties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dexter, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Pasties actually originate in Cornwall, England. This recipe is pretty close to the pasties my mom and Grandma used to make. It was a mortal sin to use carrots though. They always used Swede (Rutabaga)/ Swedish turnip. For the reviewer who has trouble with pastry, me too! I use frozen pie shells, let them get to room temp or even a litle warmer before filling one side with your ingredients. Also, we always use a peeler to scrape the potatoes and rutabaga, then it is thinner and cooks more thoroughly. We pile the ingredients on top of each other starting with potatoes, rutabaga, onions, beef and salt and pepper. Putting the beef on top allows the juices to soak into the vegetables as they cook. I love pasties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Hate to rain on the parade, but I thought this was very bland. I also ended up with a lot of leftover filling because I could only fit 1/2 to 3/4 cup of filling in each pastie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
For an easy and lower calorie version I use lean ground beef, diced onion, sliced carrots and diced potatoes add salt and pepper a pat of butter - place the raw ingredients in a pan and cover with pastry then bake - and serve hot with extra butter and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I'm not rating this recipe because I have the kiss of death with pie crust. We enjoyed pasties so much while visiting Michigan that I decided to give it a go. Had trouble rolling the dough thin enough and getting the filling to stay inside without the pastie splitting open. Any future reviewers have suggestions? (besides adding more flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This recipe is almost identical to the one that my great-grandmother from Calumet, MI used to make. I always make a triple recipe so that I can freeze a bunch. You just reheat them in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes... or my husband, also a U.P. native, says that microwaving them for three minutes works as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Great little stew in a pocket. Didn't have rutabaga and subbed fr. mixed veggies for the carrot/potato. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States