Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Say yah to da UP, eh? Great recipe for pasties, only better with fresh venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
yum! I cheated & used pre-made pie crusts, but these were great. My kids & husband liked them & it's not usual that I find something everyone likes! We served with either ketchup or beef gravy & I used a mix of red & yellow potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as is. For those who thought it was bland the beauty of pasties - they can be adjusted to your tastes by adding other meats, spices, and herbs. Many people eat them with ketchup. If you have a hard time working with pie crust two pieces of cellophane can solve that problem. Roll the dough out between the two sheets. When the dough is the thickness and shape you need remove the top sheet and proceed to fill. Then use the bottom sheet of cellophane to fold over the pasty. Again great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, and I will definitely make it again! As others have noted, I too had an excess of filling. I just made another batch of dough and ended up with 12 pasties all together. These are a great "grab and go" lunch option for the office dweller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I'm visiting my daughter who recently had her first child. I tried this recipe twice with ground turkey because she does not eat red meat. They turned out terrific both times. I'd like to make some up and put in the freezer for her. We have lived in the UP of Michigan for many years so have eaten many pasties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Florence, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Cornish pasties is our family dish - going down 5 generations. We also add fresh parsley to the mix. We never use carrots in the recipe. They are served with ketchup. My great-grandfather, who was a miner, came from Cornwall - and he loved his pasty - and now my grandchildren enjoy making them. What a wonderful family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUESUE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My dad hails from Escanaba Michigan and this is exactly how my Mom and I make them, down to the butter on top for extra moisture! Also, thanks for the tip on rubbing the tops with milk we've never tried that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
We introduced to these when I lived in Butte, MT. A huge part of the local culture, pasties are an art form there. I really enjoyed how easy the dough is to form. I had a lot of extra filling but that wasn't a problem. Just froze it until the pastie making. I have made these three times since finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
My GirlFriend got me hooked on these. I think they are pretty good and not too hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very good and looks beautiful. I sprinkled the meat mixture with powdered gravy mix, added 2T of water and a generous dose of Worcestershre Sauce. A hit with the kids so it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States