Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
As a yooper for most of my life, I have to say that the traditional U.P. pasty is made with ground beef, usually hamburger as it adds more flavor. When purchasing a pasty this is the usual form. It adds much needed moisture to the pasty so it won't be too dry. Also, I can't imagine a pasty without carrots as one viewer mentioned that they don't belong. Some people use ground pork along with the traditional ground beef but most don't like the pork either. The U.P. pasty, though similar to the cornish pasty, was made for the miners to take with them to work in the mines because they filled the men up and were very portable. The best toppings for a pasty are catsup and/or mustard of course, but some use gravy which, personally, I don't care for. My uncle used to come up from Green Bay every summer and he used to pour dill pickle juice on them. It actually isn't too bad as long as you don't use too much. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
We used to have Pasties when visiting my relatives in Upper Michigan, 40 years ago. This recipe I got from a friend in Michigan, they are wonderful! The pie crust is no problem whatsoever rolling out. I divided mine into 12 sections and used 1/2 cup of filling for each pastie circle. My husband thinks I should add a can of cream soup to the recipe for moisture, I might just do that next time. DELICIOUS! I am freezing the leftover pasties and can take them to work. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! Be careful to watch the amount of shortening. I've found Crisco to be the best. I also have to cook them longer than the recipe calls for, but just keep checking them every 5 minutes past the time if your oven isn't a real hotty. I'm a yooper chick and I grew up with having a choice between carrots and beggies. I always choose carrots. It's just a person's preference. Also, don't be afraid to use more potatoes and carrots...Long live U.P. pasties!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marniekate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Say yah to da UP, eh? Great recipe for pasties, only better with fresh venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
yum! I cheated & used pre-made pie crusts, but these were great. My kids & husband liked them & it's not usual that I find something everyone likes! We served with either ketchup or beef gravy & I used a mix of red & yellow potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as is. For those who thought it was bland the beauty of pasties - they can be adjusted to your tastes by adding other meats, spices, and herbs. Many people eat them with ketchup. If you have a hard time working with pie crust two pieces of cellophane can solve that problem. Roll the dough out between the two sheets. When the dough is the thickness and shape you need remove the top sheet and proceed to fill. Then use the bottom sheet of cellophane to fold over the pasty. Again great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, and I will definitely make it again! As others have noted, I too had an excess of filling. I just made another batch of dough and ended up with 12 pasties all together. These are a great "grab and go" lunch option for the office dweller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I'm visiting my daughter who recently had her first child. I tried this recipe twice with ground turkey because she does not eat red meat. They turned out terrific both times. I'd like to make some up and put in the freezer for her. We have lived in the UP of Michigan for many years so have eaten many pasties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Florence, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Cornish pasties is our family dish - going down 5 generations. We also add fresh parsley to the mix. We never use carrots in the recipe. They are served with ketchup. My great-grandfather, who was a miner, came from Cornwall - and he loved his pasty - and now my grandchildren enjoy making them. What a wonderful family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUESUE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My dad hails from Escanaba Michigan and this is exactly how my Mom and I make them, down to the butter on top for extra moisture! Also, thanks for the tip on rubbing the tops with milk we've never tried that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States