Pasties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I grew up with pasties in Kimberly, WI. It is a five stare dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
For an easy and lower calorie version I use lean ground beef, diced onion, sliced carrots and diced potatoes add salt and pepper a pat of butter - place the raw ingredients in a pan and cover with pastry then bake - and serve hot with extra butter and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
My family went to the UP this summer for the first time. It was fabulous and so were the pasties we enjoyed there. This recipe tasted exactly like the pasties we ate while sitting on the shore of Lake Superior. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
My dad hails from Escanaba Michigan and this is exactly how my Mom and I make them, down to the butter on top for extra moisture! Also, thanks for the tip on rubbing the tops with milk we've never tried that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Pasties actually originate in Cornwall, England. This recipe is pretty close to the pasties my mom and Grandma used to make. It was a mortal sin to use carrots though. They always used Swede (Rutabaga)/ Swedish turnip. For the reviewer who has trouble with pastry, me too! I use frozen pie shells, let them get to room temp or even a litle warmer before filling one side with your ingredients. Also, we always use a peeler to scrape the potatoes and rutabaga, then it is thinner and cooks more thoroughly. We pile the ingredients on top of each other starting with potatoes, rutabaga, onions, beef and salt and pepper. Putting the beef on top allows the juices to soak into the vegetables as they cook. I love pasties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
A wonderful hearty meal. Our favorite! And the entire house smells wonderful while they bake. Can't have them often enough ! Your recipe is perfect..I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These were fantastic! I was born and raised in the UP and have not had a pastie in 15 years. These tasted just as I remember my grandmother's tasting. Thanks Cheryl! I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This recipe is almost identical to the one that my great-grandmother from Calumet, MI used to make. I always make a triple recipe so that I can freeze a bunch. You just reheat them in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes... or my husband, also a U.P. native, says that microwaving them for three minutes works as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I'm not rating this recipe because I have the kiss of death with pie crust. We enjoyed pasties so much while visiting Michigan that I decided to give it a go. Had trouble rolling the dough thin enough and getting the filling to stay inside without the pastie splitting open. Any future reviewers have suggestions? (besides adding more flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
We introduced to these when I lived in Butte, MT. A huge part of the local culture, pasties are an art form there. I really enjoyed how easy the dough is to form. I had a lot of extra filling but that wasn't a problem. Just froze it until the pastie making. I have made these three times since finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States